Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

New to this and motors will not start

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by dstansel, Nov 2, 2015.

  1. dstansel

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rotor Motors will not start. Have 9 sats and green lights. Calibrated and still no start. All is on and the two switchs are both up. This has happened before and is very annoying. I am really green to software so if that is an area I need to address please talk in layman terms.
     
  2. BlackTracer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL USA
    I think you should try calibrating your remote control. Calibrate it in the remote control assistant first. Then again in the regular assistant. That should solve your problem.
     
  3. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    If Blacktracer's comment don't fix it, try:

    2 cent fix.
    Get a cardboard box and take off from it. You have rebar in the ground throwing off your compass.

    0 cent fix.
    Move to another location.

    But really, you should have a look at the screen and see what the warnings are.
     
  4. RoyVa

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    449
    Location:
    Virginia
    Dyounsaynyour motors won't start. What happens when you Power up. What led's are you getting and what color from the back of the Phantom. Are they flashing slow or really fast. We need a little more info.
    When you first Power on the Phantom it does a self test. Then it goes a head and looks for the satellites and once it connects it lets you know if it has less than 6 or if it gets 6 or more it lets you know that. If it has satellite lock it then set home lock and if all is well you get rapidly flashing rear green led's and your onscreen data confirms the number of satellites and home lock set. Then you do the CSC with both stick down and in. She should start and idle. So what are you getting?
     
  5. DLinzy

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Check the GPS connection under the cover, it's the one connector that barely has enough slack to take the cover off and the last thing you connect when replacing the cover. It may have come loose.
     
  6. kirk2579

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    Girard. ohio

    He mentioned he has 9 sats and green lights so GPS appears to be functional.

    I would go with the RC needs to be recalibrated via vision program.

    Or if real new and the RC is all OK, are you (op) doing the CSC correctly to start motors

    TRY THIS:
    underneath the P2 there is a small blinking light (red). keep controller off and turn on a bird. now use small screwdriver and press
    that blinking light (it's a button switch) and hold until it starts blinking yellow. now turn the controller on.
    VOILA! you're bound to the controller.
    don't forget to calibrate the controller in RC software and then again in P2 software under Basic - RC
     
    #6 kirk2579, Nov 4, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2015