New to Drones - Need some help - DJI

Reaction score
Hi!

I'm new to the drone world and looking for some advice and to ask a few questions, any help would be greatly appreciated!

I've owned a Nighthawk/007 drone for a few weeks now and become really confident and enjoy flying it, however I'm looking for something a little more serious now.

I've come across the DJI drones and seem like my best bet, although I really like the look of the Parrot bebop, I don't think the performance to price ratio is right.

So, my next selections in line are either the DJI Phantom 1 or 2. I live in a city in the UK so a drone which can handle the winds here would be needed, currently my Nighthawk can't fly into the wind at all.

What are the noticable differences between the DJI phantom 1 and 2? Is it worth the extra £100?

I want to either use FPV or some kind of screen with my drone as my eyesight is terrible, I noticed neither of these drones come with a camera, so how easy is it to get an okay camera linked up to my smartphone?

Are there any reasonably cheap FPV goggles out there? I've been looking at some DIY kits for about £30 but they don't come with receivers and would cost about £60 with one, are they still worth? or should I invest more like £100 on a pair of hubsan ones, if they were compatible?

Thanks for your time!
Matt

The main difference is the Phantom 1 uses the standard off the shelf batteries and the Phantom 2 (standard, vision and vision +) use the DJI smart battery.
the P1 flight time full loaded with a GoPro is around 7 to 8 minutes on a battery, the P2 is around 20 minutes.

The Phantom 2 readily accepts the Zenmuse H3-3D gimbal to mount a Gopro.. the P1 doesn't...

Welcome Matt. Which city are you living in and what sort of wind speeds are you talking of ?