Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

New Style Remote With P2 & H3-2D Gimball

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by flyinghero, Apr 27, 2015.

  1. flyinghero

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    I recently(about 3 months ago when they first came out) purchased the upgrade kit for my Phantom 2 with the H3-2D gimbal. It came with the new motors, esc's and the new style remote. I bought it from Drone Camps. The RC control I found out was not compatible with my gimbal. I do like the new style remote so this weekend I took it apart and removed the centering spring and installed a fiber washer
    for some tension on the gimbal control, I have not tested it yet.
    I was just wondering if there was any other reason the remote would not work.
    When I first bound it to my P2 everything worked as it should except the gimbal, it would go back to center. I did not fly it this way.
    This is just an idea and I will test it this week. I thought some of you that still have the H3-2D gimbal might be interested in this.
    Joe
     
  2. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    If the gimbal won't move down or back up on the bench what make you think it will work while in the air? Smiley Oh No.jpg
     
  3. flyinghero

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    jason,
    The gimbal movement works, it always goes back to the center of its travel, about 45 degrees. This is because the gimbal control has a spring in it to bring the control back to center. The H3-2D gimbal will only work relative to the gimbal control Like the old style RC. Not like the upgraded version or the Vision +3.0.
    I'm probably not explaining this very well.
    Joe
     
    #3 flyinghero, Apr 27, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2015
  4. flyinghero

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just bound the RC to my P2, calibrated both the RC and the P2 and the gimbal works as it should with the new style remote.
    I will update more after I have flown it some.
    Joe
     
  5. J Dot

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    891
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL. USA!
    Joe does your gimbal point down at startup?

    J Dot
     
  6. flyinghero

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    J Dot,
    At power up it points straight out (tipped up all the way) and then points relative to the gimbal control position.
    Joe