New Shell- somewhat weatherproof?

Reaction score
Does anyone think that we might be able to fly and not worry so much if there's high humidity? The promo videos seem to show the darn thing flying in snow-scapes. I've always worried with my P3P that a little snow might get sucked into the vents and play havoc on the drone.
3ce429d368ed66b4b64cdf23ac0373f9.jpg

Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app

I doubt that DJI would advertise the phantom 4 as waterproof even if it was in fact waterproof, just to cover their back. However, there is a fair bit of promotional material that shows it in scenarios where it must be getting wet.

On the Phantom 4 website, one of the promotional pictures is of the P4 hovering right next to one of those floating water jet things, and it must be getting wet....

I'm no expert, but there's quite a lot of electrics exposed on the P3P, whereas on the P4 it looks like the electrics have been enclosed in the P4 shell.

However, when I get my P4, no way I'm going to expose it to any water until somebody else tests it (rigorously) :D !

Last edited:
While I have flown my phantom 3 in plenty of drizzles and light snowing today, there are a lot of vents on that shell. On the phantom 4 the venting is on the bottom. Then there are also the motors and now they are mounted. There is no open area surrounding the motors as in prior phantoms. I will fly my 4 with much more confidence.

Are you not concerned at all, about moisture and any of the high humidity around weather conditions, getting in or on the camera and its gimbal? What about getting wetness, inside where the micro sd card is inserted? The undercarriage vent openings aren't my only concerns, with regards to where H2o might be introduced.

RedHotPoker