Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

New Record for the FPVLR Stage 2

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Mods' started by rrmccabe, Sep 13, 2014.

  1. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    Decided to get out of my hole where I normally make distance runs (my house) and go 1/2 mile to my parents who live up on the hill a ways.

    New personal best today with the FPVLR Stage 2 kit. 9071 feet. No mods on the bird, no amps/boosters and no WIFI apps !

    I know this little girl has 10,000 in it.
     
    808 Oahu Realtor likes this.
  2. DBS

    DBS

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    163
    Location:
    Ft. Pierce, Florida
    Wait wait... hold on a second here... :twisted:

    Just a post?

    No screenshots? No video? No fancy GPS mapping on google earth?!

    Jesus man!! Get yourself together here... we need to see some DATA on this whole event or it's just a bunch of text with all the details left to our imagination... :twisted:

    (You know i'm not doubting you bro... i just wanna see it !!!)
     
  3. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    LOL, I knew I would hear about it from you.

    Dashware rendering right now.

    Video to follow.
     

    Attached Files:

    • new.jpg
      new.jpg
      File size:
      451 KB
      Views:
      642
    Jan Erik and dirkclod like this.
  4. mr_3_0_5

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    sweet! great accomplishment!
     
  5. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    And the video

    [vimeo]106072430[/vimeo]
     
  6. DBS

    DBS

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    163
    Location:
    Ft. Pierce, Florida
    Well **** dude... considering where you took off and controlled from ... that was a crazy long flight :ugeek:
    I wonder how far it would go with unobstructed field of view for the flight line... :?:

    Where did you get the telemetry bar up top showing satellite count and pressure and temp? That looks pretty cool too :cool:
     
    Jan Erik likes this.
  7. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    Well I guess the answer would be 9571 ! Getting ready to load up DashWare now for the new run.

    I created the bar myself from another one. Added the Sat, temp and pressure. Need to look at run time as its not working. I can send you the bar so you can look at it/use it.
     
  8. DBS

    DBS

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    163
    Location:
    Ft. Pierce, Florida
    Yeah bro... i would like to look at that bar... sent an email :ugeek:

    9571!!! Coolness!!! Knocking on the door for 2 miles :ugeek:
     
  9. zryall3

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    5
    Impressive range for sure. If youre sharing your telemetry bar, love to try it out. How does it incorporate with the stock Vision app software, or does it at all?
     
    Jan Erik likes this.
  10. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    It really doesn't incorporate into the Vision app.

    I am running a Flytrex core 2 logger that logs data. You can also do it with the Vision utility app that you purchase in your phone app store.

    Then you need a program called Dashware that takes the data from the logger and overlays it on the video file from your Phantom.
     
  11. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
  12. ToThePoint

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Antwerp, Belgium
    Looks promising on a stock bird.
    Still confused on how to use that data bar.
    Its something you made yourself right ?
    And were does it add on ? Afterwards when compiling the video ?
     
  13. hawaiibyair

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Very nice man. I want to test my limits here in Hawaii but we don't have endless cornfields so I'm not as brave as you to travel out that far. :)

    I've gone close to 6000 ft over the ocean before I got scared and turned around.
     
  14. DBS

    DBS

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    163
    Location:
    Ft. Pierce, Florida
    It's a Dashware Gauge... you must log Data somehow (flytrex or Utility Pro App)
    Then import video and data file to Dashware program for video editing to merge the two files using Dashware Gauges to display the data over the video...
     
  15. Larry9901

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Nice distance run!
    I'm looking forward to receiving my stage 2 kit.
     
  16. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    Yes I am pretty fortunate when it comes to that. My home is on the edge of the endless cornfields you are talking about. I think I am about at my limit for reach from home as I live in a low area. But within a mile I have public areas where I can stretch it out to the limits of whatever technology I am flying. I have one spot I am playing with that should be good for about 4 miles clear LOS and fields.

    I really do not plan on boosters or large antennas so my goal is going to be breaking 10,000 feet and then 2 miles before I move on to something more interesting like "beach" filming.

    I am sure you will enjoy it. Lots of punch is a small package.
     
  17. Luap

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    70
    Nice overlay.
    Would be interesting to check the battery status.
    Does Flytrrex log the battery data? If it does you could add a gauge.

    I'm puzzled on the Deg data gauge. Is that temperature in Fahrenheit?
    Is the sensor in the Flytrex module or is this a sensor located in all the Phantom Visions?
     
  18. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    No afraid it wont log battery data with the Core 2. The flytrex live does in fact log that but the live model does not work well in the US.

    The temp is Fahrenheit. The Flytrex has its own barometric pressure sensor on the device.
     
  19. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    Well is sucks when you miss your goal by 18' !

    [vimeo]106336320[/vimeo]
     
  20. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    LOL, to make things worse I went out and busted off a 10,xxx something. Just over 10,000. Apparently I set my distance limit to 9999 thinking I would never get there but the Phantom glided past that by make 100'

    However, the flytrex stopped recording data 1 foot short of my 9999' distance limit. So only shows 9998 :evil: :evil: :evil: