Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

new rc update problems

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by toorboy, Oct 26, 2015.

  1. toorboy

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    fife scotland uk
    hi folks I updated my rc to update 1.4 the latest update and now
    the video signal to my bird is cutting off and on wtf???
    it was loosing signal with the rc & drone sitting next to each other on my bed
    so I took it out on sunday and had the bird 60m above doing time lapse for 15
    minutes just sitting in one spot and it did not cut off like in the house but black
    stripes were appearing in the middle of the screen on my ipad mini 2
    they were about 1-2 inches in width. any ideas guys?
    I have had 47 flights no issues no problems until the update
    need advice from the pro's here I usually wait till an update has been out for
    a while before updating
    thanks for any advice in advance folks :)
     
    Poundofnuts likes this.
  2. markcl

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am on 1.4 too, I was out about 800m without any issues yesterday. Was it a hot day when you were flying yesterday? Could be over heating the image transmission stops..
     
  3. toorboy

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    fife scotland uk
    hi markcl its wasent a hot day in Scotland lol
    temp was 3-5c buddy
     
    Mr.Spock and Chris P Duck like this.
  4. Chris P Duck

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    133
    Location:
    Chester, UK
    Could the firmware update be a red herring?

    It sounds a lot like an High Resistance fault on a cable to me.
    Unfortunately that could be in the ribbon cable, USB socket or lightning cable.

    I'm sure I read a post a little while back where someone had exactally the same symptoms and it turned out to be a cable.
     
  5. transmetaman

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Southeast
    After I did the HDMI board mod I had the same issues. Went back and found a loose ribbon cable. It was my fault.

    You might want to look to upload your data to Healthydrones.com it is an awesome way to track performance especially signal strength!

    Good luck and hope things clear up for you.
     
  6. toorboy

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    fife scotland uk
    thanks guys I will check that tonight when I get in
    just seems strange the bird never had any bumps or crashes
    and I always handcatch on return I plugged the bird into the pc
    on Saturday and I emptied the black box they were all DAT files
    where do I find the TEXT file to upload to healthydrones?
     
  7. Chris P Duck

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    133
    Location:
    Chester, UK
    The txt file is on your phone/tablet.
    Use iTunes to copy the whole folder to your PC (folder is called flight records) look under app data on iTunes.

    Can't advice if you're using android but I believe it's easier!

    Djilogs.com can read the .dat files if that's all you can get.

    I'm not sure either file will help you narrow it down unfortunately though.
     
  8. toorboy

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    fife scotland uk
    this is what i got from healthdrones i dont see
    any problems here? or have i missed something lol :)
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Chris P Duck

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    133
    Location:
    Chester, UK
    Knows what he's talking about that bloke ;)
     
  10. toorboy

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    fife scotland uk
    hahaha :) thanks chris p duck I will keep an eye on it
    with my next flight if this rubbish weather goes away:oops: lol
    thanks again
     
  11. Poundofnuts

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    34
    It's 2.4 and the latest updates. Giving almost all of us problems now.
     
  12. Lonewolf

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    108
    I had that issue when updating both controller & GoApp. Uninstalled the GoApp 2.4 then reinstalled it. Seemed to help quite a bit. Also went to my channels & hit custom instead of Auto. Found a clear channel & that helped even more.