Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

New RC firmware 1.5.7

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by TC Malker, Nov 26, 2015.

  1. TC Malker

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    85
    Anybody installed yet? What exactly does it claim to improve? (Or remove?)
     
  2. Volantis

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Alma, IL
  3. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,084
    Likes Received:
    1,634
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    I automatically got it when I updated DJI Go App. Not sure what did it do :)
     
  4. TC Malker

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    85
  5. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    By the way, the Phantom 3 Pro, now has a 16mp still camera.
    It was originally the same as the Phantom 3 Advanced, at 12mp.
    Coming soon, we will also have the option of downgrading the video camera to 2.7K video recording. Sweet. ;-)

    RedHotPoker
     
    Bret Lucas likes this.
  6. TC Malker

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    85
    You can't just add extra pixels through software. Hardware needs to be upgraded. It might be 16mp on paper, but in reality its just 12mp extrapolated, so won't be clear. Kinda like digital zoom, but in reverse.
     
    Douglas Struble likes this.
  7. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    That makes sense. I can certainly understand your sentiment.
    I wonder if those will still be useful, or simply a waste of time and effort? I suppose trial and error will dictate.
    When I need real high definition pics, I can always "resort" back to my Nikon D800. ;-)
    It has the full-on 36mp sensor.

    RedHotPoker
     
    #7 RedHotPoker, Nov 26, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2015
  8. TC Malker

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    85
    Off topic, but I always wondered how they magically made the advanced camera go from 1080p to 2.7k just through firmware (software) updates. Either the camera was already 2.7k and they limited it to 1080p to justify price difference between advanced & pro model (which is good for advanced owners), or its really 1080p and extrapolated to 2.7k which will make picture not as clear, I don't know. Hope that made sense.
     
  9. nathanpaviator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    georgetown,kentucky
    Tru dat Tc malker
     
  10. rmfa

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2015
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    61
    The Nikon D800 at 400ft will be quite impressive. How do you plan on doing that?
     
    Bill7259 likes this.
  11. Andrew Allsbury

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    5
    It is likely that there was more room on the sensor that was not being utilized, somebody should compare the fov of the old 12mp and the new 16mp. If there was an increase in resolution there would need to be an increase in viewable are, that is unless some kind of downsampling was already taking place and they removed or modified it. I am still really hoping for 2.7k/48fps as well, and more importantly, for an increased codec bitrate for 4k/uhd and a much better sharpening / detail algorithm. We need 100+ Mbps.
     
  12. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    Oh, I have a secret weapon here, Align TRex 700E DFC HV. ;-)
    Can also be made into a TRex 800E using a longer tail boom-torque tube, and larger rotor blades. It will carry the load, and then some.

    RedHotPoker
     
  13. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,084
    Likes Received:
    1,634
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    I was checking the stills taken today with P3A and find surprising results:

    Raw File size is 3922x 2242 which is 4K and total pixels are 18.4MB

    Does it mean that P3A has 4K camera?
     
  14. TC Malker

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    85
    No, 4k is 3840x2160
     
  15. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,084
    Likes Received:
    1,634
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    So it is higher than 4K? And the pixels used are 18.4MB which is higher than 12Mega pixels. Where am I making mistake?
     
  16. TC Malker

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    85
    Just kidding with u. It's probably IS 4K capable, but DJI is deliberately blocking it through software. I wouldn't be surprised if advanced and professional camera are exactly the same.
     
  17. Bret Lucas

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    180
    Really
     
  18. Bret Lucas

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    180
    Wow, can't wait to try out the extra pixels! Amazing what they can do these days!
     
  19. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun

    Your mixing up 4K VIDEO vs Images.

    Images are the same on both A & P.

    Its the VIDEO that is 4K on pro and has extra processing to handle it.
     
  20. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    Images of the Pro and Advanced are not the same, after this recent firmware and app update.
    The Pro now has 16mp stills, the Advanced remains at 12mp. (?)
    If I'm not mistaken. Love to know the truth, matters. ;-)
    Another update soon, will provide us Phantom 3 Pro' pilots with the option of recording in 2.7K video as well.
    I am looking forward to testing that feature. 4K video takes a lot of memory space and computer processing power to deal with those large files.

    RedHotPoker
     
    #20 RedHotPoker, Nov 27, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2015