Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

New prop different than old prop?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Chuck Young, Sep 21, 2015.

  1. Chuck Young

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    192
    So I just got a new set of props says "Genuine P3 9540 Props Part #09"

    So I noticed the Hub looks to be aluminum, the props that came on my P3P do not have aluminum hubs.
    So what is up? Should I not mix and match or what?
     
  2. D4T_PoM

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    London UK
    Do not use them.

    The props used by our P3's have composite hubs due to the aluminiums not locking on properly.

    That is as far as I know and all the props I have ordered have always been the ones with composite hub.
     
    bobmyers likes this.
  3. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148
    Found these in my p1 box today. Not sure how they got there. These are p3 props correct? I've never had any with the gold stripes. ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots - DJI Phantom Forum1442877881.729041.jpg ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots - DJI Phantom Forum1442877894.994712.jpg
     
  4. Prometric

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    31
    Just make sure the threads are plastic not aluminum. The older props can spin off the p3.
     
    D4T_PoM likes this.
  5. D4T_PoM

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    London UK
    As said above ensure these have a composite hub/plastic hub and mot aluminium and you should be good to go.
     
  6. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    Active Braking, will not know which rotor blades you have applied.
    This is on you...
    DJI Forum|Phantom 2-Phantom 3 Propellers

    Do not use those blades, they might have been mispackaged/wrong label applied.

    RedHotPoker
     
  7. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    +1
     
  8. Chuck Young

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    192
    I left them at work so I can't check the hubs. They say composite on the label. The threaded part is silver but I have not removed them from the packaging and can't verify the aluminum statement I made earlier. I bet they are not aluminum. Finally got my 6mm DuBro balancing rod, we shall check them in the morning for aluminum and balance then fly them. Think I will switch all four to the new ones, the others have green stains from mowing the lawn with them. lol
     
  9. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148
    I saw a video on YouTube tonight that was saying not to use those props
     
  10. Chuck Young

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    192
    Got a link to that video?
     
  11. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    I have eight more, send me your address and I will send them to you. They were advertised as P3 props, but when I received them they had the aluminum hubs. So I just pitched them in the junk box-- still in the wrappers. I wont take the chance of them coming off. o_O
     
  12. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148


    He says it somewhere in here. Not sure how creditable it is.
     
  13. Ed209

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    423
    Now it's got me thinking... I've got 65 flights on the original props. I saw no reason to replace them yet but after watching that video I'm going to have to check the snugness of the tightening. Would hate to lose a prop in mid flight!
     
  14. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    The Phantom 3 props are self tightening-- it has been stated here that that is the reason the motors double rev upon start up--

    I don't believe you will have any trouble losing them, because the hubs are composite, not the metal like the ones for the P2. I did change mine last week, because I had about the same number of flights-- and they were somewhat quieter than the original 4,-- I have no idea why, because the originals still flew without any issues.
     
  15. FunN4lo

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    57
    Did you get a PM? If not I'll send you one
     
  16. Chuck Young

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    192
    The order was from Amazon and fulfilled by RotoLogic.com I contacted them and within a couple hours they had the right ones on the way along with a return envelope for the old props. The outer package had P3 on the label but the inner package had P2 written on them. I will send themback when I get the P3 props.
     
  17. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    not yet