New Phantom Vision 2+ owner

Reaction score
Hello, I am new to the quad copter scene. I have had mine for a week now and have flown it 6-7 flights with zero issues. That is what has me scared as I am so far into page 26 of the P2P+ forum, and frankly terrified of some of the stuff I hear about. I have many helicopters, from a 700 size down to the blade micros. I almost bought a Blade 350QX but the 2D gimbal turned me off. Then today I find that the GoPro camera has to be turned on before flight and no way to control it from the ground? I am very glad I didn't go that route. Again, Blade has excellent customer service, and I am hearing horror stories here about DJI. I have read all the manuals carefully, and according to the apps I have the latest firmware and such. The only calibration I have not performed is the IMU? The machine is in the Phantom mode, and I was shocked to see I could lay the TX down and it stays in place!! Try that on my 7HV and we are talking lots of money. having said all that, it is obviously extremely easy to fly and I am having a blast with the pictures and movies. Already spent additional money on a big external HD that I will surely need. Just wanted to say hello and I am very much enjoying this forum. Now maybe Santa will oblige with a 550 kit and on to learn the FPV stuff.

welcome!
i'm one of the newer P2V+ owners here. i went through the same process. DJI support has been great for me. i usually reach them through email, and they get back to me usually less than 24hrs but you got to count in the time difference ^_^
if you do the calibration that is mentioned in the manual, should be good enough.
this forum has been great place to get ideas & get some answers. but remember, usually people likes to post really bad or really good stuff so keep that in mind -_^

Welcome aboard, Jetlag.