Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

New Phantom Updates

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by nporst, Mar 29, 2015.

  1. nporst

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA, USA
    Just received my Phantom Vision 2+ v3.0. What are the different items I want / need to update.
    Some of the things that pop up on the forums are Firmware, DJI Vision, DJI Assistant, Batteries, (any I'm missing?) etc. Please help clarify. Also, is there a way to find out which version / update I currently have for these items. Thank you again for helping the new guys out.
    Norm
     
  2. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,774
    Likes Received:
    3,479
  3. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,117
    Likes Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    US
    Here's a good video on setting everything up out of the box:

     
  4. nporst

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA, USA
    OK, I have downloaded v3.8 assistant, read the owners manual, watched the video.
    USB cord from Phantom to Computer - Phantom On - Assistant opened - Window of assistant comes up as shown in information - But nothing happens. If I click on info it tells me I have the 3.8 installed. If I click on the Phantom box at the top, I get: Error, Please connect to the controller.
    I get this message with either the Phantom or RC controller hooked up. Any advise, please!
     
  5. snowghost

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    213
    Location:
    SoCal, USA
    The controller always needs to be powered on, and before the Phantom or you might have some serious results. Leave the props off while updating until you know what you're doing. Make sure the gimbal lock is removed as well anytime she's powered on. Or you can burn up the motor.

    Good luck and safe flying.
     
  6. nporst

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA, USA
    Thanks for the reply, here's where I'm at:
    Controller is on (no cord to computer).
    Phantom connected to computer with USB cord.
    Phantom turned on.
    Assistant opened. (I get an opening screen that has a place for me to click 'skip' to get the assistant window to open)
    Still no connection.
    Norm
     
  7. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,117
    Likes Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    US
    That means your Phantom is not connected to the Phantom Assistant application.

    Did you install the DJI driver? It's not required if you're using a Mac.
     
  8. nporst

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA, USA
    Not sure how to do that, but I will give it a try. I am using a PC and it's odd that I never found anything instructing a driver download. Thanks
     
  9. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,117
    Likes Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    US
    nporst, you can download it from the DJI download page. It's listed as "DJI WIN Driver Installer".
     
    #9 msinger, Mar 29, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2015
  10. nporst

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA, USA
    As I do this I get a Set Up Window (small) that says "Please power on MC and Connect to PC via USB and a choice of yes or no. What is the MC? Thanks
     
  11. johnaunderwood

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is Chinese for the main circuit board located inside your Phantom. Turn your Phantom on and you should connect.
     
  12. nporst

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA, USA
    My thanks to both msinger and johnaunderwood
    After a few hours of frustration, your advise was spot on. I received other replys but yours guided me through this and everything is working. I am ready for my first flight. One of the great things about the internet is when people take the time to help strangers, you guys are most kind.
    Pat yourselves on the back, well done!
     
  13. AgentOrange2015

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Lake Ouachita, AR
    Food for thought, down the road, you may want to go into the Assistant after you have everything connected and running and then click on the 3.8 upgrade, even if it does not say you need to, this will download the latest version. I know that sounds confusing, but if you run into trouble, just keep it in mind. Same holds true for all the upgrades that your Assistant software shows. The compass calibration is really important, disregard the heating up warning and download or upgrade regardless, especially, if you just turned everything on.
     
  14. Prowler

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    TEXAS
  15. rbhamilton

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    13
    My first flight was fun. Straight into a tree. Cost me $800 for a new camera.

    Read read read. Once that's done, make sure you are in the biggest most open field you can find. Get a nice solid satellite lock and keep your baby close to home for several flights. Take it slow and you will be fine.

    And remember trees are your drone's kryptonite.