Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

New Phantom Pro 3 won't take firmware update - Help.

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by gravejj, Apr 2, 2016.

  1. gravejj

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    New phantom 3 out of the box, won't take a firmware update. The first time it went 10-15 min before failing, I cleared the card, redownloaded the software and it fails now in under a min. Suggestions?
     
  2. peterepeat69

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    110
    Have you tried using the bird without it?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  3. gravejj

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes, I have tired using without the update. I get a no signal error on the top in red with no video feed.
     
  4. peterepeat69

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    110
    You using iPad or android?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  5. gravejj

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    iPhone, 6s plus. Newest app on there. I've also checked the cables and they're pushed in as far as I can tell.
     
  6. peterepeat69

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    110
    There seems to be a problem with the latest iOS updates not working with the phantom I think dji is on to it but not sure how long it's going to take what iOS you on? From memory I think it's 9.3 or 9.4 that's the issue


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    Luis Costa likes this.
  7. gravejj

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Im running 9.3.1, should I try an older version (assuming I can device with an older version)
     
  8. peterepeat69

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    110
    You can try, hopefully a techy picks up this post and can help you further, I'm also concerned because I have a new bird arriving with a new iPad I'll probably get the same problem.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  9. gravejj

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had this problem last week with a different new bird. I think I got it to take the update but the camera never ended up work, I ended up having to ship it to DJI, in the mean time I contacted the dealer I bought it from and they shipped me a replacement and this one doesn't work either.
     
  10. peterepeat69

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    110
    Yep that's iOS then, I've been reading a lot of posts on it, maybe do a search on that topic in this forum, you will find the posts that I read.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  11. gravejj

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Even thought it works just fine when calibrating the gimbal and those features?
     
  12. Mike-m1911a1

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    Grave, was yours a P3P?



    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  13. Mike-m1911a1

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    Sorry, just read the top of thread and answered my own question.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  14. Luis Costa

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2

    Thanks a lot, man!
    I was going nuts around here, after 6 months in the box, took the bird out for a spin and it would not connect, not update, nothing!
    I was ready to give up and send it to DJI, when I saw this about the IOS.
    Tried again with android, and it went smooth as ever before!

    Thank you very much!