New Phantom pilot

Reaction score
Hello everyone. Just purchased a P3 Standard yesterday. I'll be looking for places to fly as I live 2 miles from a small muni airport. Hope to see some locals out buzzing around.

Reactions: dirkclod
Welcome to Phantom Pilots! :)

Welcome to the forum.

If you have any questions try doing a search first by clicking the magnifying glass top right. You might find your question has already been asked and it will save you a lot of time. If you can’t find an answer, then just post the question. We are only to happy to help.

Enjoy.

I just joined the Phantom Pilots forum and am interested in purchasing my first drone. I've been a licensed pilot and flight instructor for many years, but want to learn more about drone flying. I do plan to get a DJI Phantom as my first drone and am looking at a model 3 4K. Any help would be appreciated?

@topilot, welcome to the forum! How can we help you?

I just joined the Phantom Pilots forum and am interested in purchasing my first drone. I've been a licensed pilot and flight instructor for many years, but want to learn more about drone flying. I do plan to get a DJI Phantom as my first drone and am looking at a model 3 4K. Any help would be appreciated?

Hi,

The first thing to do would be to decide what you want to do with it.

ie Just fly / take 4K video etc. Consider portability as well. Small = Mavic P3 = Medium size

I estimate it will take you a good week of four hours per day to understand the 'what not to do's' and the 'what to do's' and to choose your UAV. So, the first stage is research any rules and regs., and then research on your chosen UAV.

Once you have decided which model would suit your purposes then buy and learn to fly it. Its not as easy as it looks if you plan to do everything correctly and not crash.

Once you have your UAV take things nice and easy and learn the functions - just as in real flying.