New Phantom owner / question about RTH initiation

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I've been reading here for a few weeks doing research and finally signed up. Awesome forum loaded with great information. This is my first time posting. Anyway, I've been flying a Blade 350QX for a few months and do just fine with it. Just this week I got a Phantom 2 Vision Plus. I've only got a couple of basic flights in so far and all is well and I really like it. As far as needing to manually use RTH goes, I really hate the idea of having to turn off the transmitter to initiate it. I can see it as a last ditch attempt, but it just seems wrong as the correct way to do it to start with. Being that I'm not a total beginner with quads should I just go ahead and change it over to the Naza settings? I see that in Naza with both switches in the up position it's really the same as flying it in the "Phantom" settings anyway. With the 350QX I can flip a switch on the transmitter and it initiates RTH. I really like the idea of being able to also do that with the Phantom. Since I am new to the Phantom quads is there any danger in setting up NAZA as long as I always make sure of my preflight procedures such as correct LED's showing satellite lock, home lock, and making sure S1 and S2 are both at the top before lifting off? Thanks for any insight and opinions.

Jeff

I have a non-Vision Phantom2, but in Phantom Mode (not Naza mode - I think it's called Vision mode on a P2V) you can configure the right-hand toggle switch to manually initiate RTH without turning off the RC. image below shows you the exact setting - when changed to Failsafe, toggling the right-hand toggle full down (2 clicks from full up position) will put the Phantom in RTH mode. either of the other 2 positions (up or middle) will go right back to Normal Fly.
You can tell when Failsafe is triggered, the rear indicator lights on the Phantom which are normally green, will start blinking (slow) yellow.