Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

New Phantom Loss of Thrust

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Suspend, Feb 27, 2014.

  1. Suspend

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys, I REALLY need some help! I have the oddest problem. Here's the facts:

    I just bought a brand new DJI Phantom 1. Totally stock. No GoPro or anything else attached. I put it together, upgraded the firmware, reloaded the Phantom calibration defaults, calibrated the transmitter and IMU, calibrated the compass and charged the battery. Everything looks good.

    When I fly, I can take off but it seems underpowered from what I expected. I flew up to maybe 30 feet in height, but within 1 minute, it's coming down and I keep increasing the throttle. By 2 minutes it takes full throttle just to hover and by 3 minutes, I can only hover inches from the ground. Something major is wrong but I have no idea what.

    LED flashes green as if everything is normal. No low battery warning. I've even bought a new battery and the same thing happens with the new battery. I've run the NAZA software and the transmitter seems to be calibrated correctly, meaning on-screen all the sticks move to the limits normally. Props are installed correctly. I'm totally stumped.

    Anyone have any ideas?

    Thanks...
     
  2. RogerClark

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have a Phantom 1 or Phantom 2?

    I'm not sure if this is possible (as I have a Phantom 2), but is it possible that you have the props on upside down ?
     
  3. Suspend

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, it's the original Phantom. Phantom 1. And no, the props were the right way up and with the arrows matching the direction marked on the arms.

    Thanks...
     
  4. gbshovel

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Conneaut Ohio
    My thoughts were props also , I would remove and inspect them again.
     
  5. EMCSQUAR

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    N 44.895 W 93.354 Minnesota
    You haven't happened to remove & reinstall the lid by any chance have you? Couple of things to check

    a) that stripes (indentations) are facing front of aircraft
    b) in assistant software the mixer type is correct - Basic -> aircraft -> box #2 should be highlighted
    c) recal your sticks
    d) make sure it's in PPM mode if it is actually a Phantom 1 w/1 antenna or Dbus mode if it has 2 antennas
     
  6. ericdes

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    You said it is brand new, but doesn't have the self tightening props?

    Is that even possible?
     
  7. mikeydaddio

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is if you buy it off Amazon. I bought mine Feb 6 and they sent me a 3-versions-old 1.1.

    I returned it and bought a 1.1.1 from B&H.

    As for the thrust problem, check for binding of the motors. Do they spin freely without scraping the case? It only takes one motor lagging for the above to happen because if one motor is binding, weak, has a motor screw obstructing it, etc. it will have no choice but to slow down the other motors to keep equilibrium. The motors are only as good as the weakest one.

    Mike
     
  8. Suspend

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys, so, gbshovel, the props have the smooth side down. Directional Arrows and DJI markings up. I assume this is correct.

    EMCSQUAR - I haven't removed the lid. Stripes are to the front, mixer does have box 2 selected. I have recalibrated the sticks in the assist software. I have 1 antenna and I have it set to PPM mode.

    ericdes - I don't think I mentioned anything about self tightening props. But no, it does NOT have the self-tightening props. Just the silver nuts.

    mikeydaddio - The motors do seem to spin freely. I can't feel any binding.

    I take it this is not a common issue. Maybe I just have a defective Phantom. :-(
     
  9. ericdes

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Return it. Get a more recent model.
     
  10. LeoS

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sounds like NAZA was in failsafe mode (land) due to low power?
     
  11. Suspend

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't believe so. The light was still flashing green and it never did actually land. I could still fly around for another minute or two but only inches off the ground. I think the "ground effect" from the props was giving me a bit more lift close to the ground and I could fly back and forth a few inches off the ground at full throttle to maintain the hover.
     
  12. syotr

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    134
    Perhaps your charger is faulty. Have you checked your battery voltage before flying? Do you have the charger set for LiPo?
     
  13. Suspend

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    syotr - I thought it was the battery too, so I bought a brand new one....same issue. Tried a friends charger...same issue.

    So with everyone's help I came to the conclusion that I don't think I have anything setup wrong.

    I finally got through to DJI tech support.....talked to a service technician and they came to the conclusion that I have a faulty Phantom. Probably a bad altimeter.

    Thanks for everyone's help. You proved to me that I didn't just have something setup stupidly.
     
  14. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,374
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    Make sure your replacement is the 1.1.1 version. It will have the self tightening props and some other assorted upgrades.