New Phantom keeps flying away...

Reaction score
Hi there,

I have a new phantom, I'm a heli pilot so not new to RC, but new to quads. I installed a CM2000 gimbal, and a FBOSD ghost, with a Predator FPV. I've tried the fly the phantom twice, I calibrate the compass, have the RC set to GPS and home lock, wait for the slow green lights, take off, and the phantom will act as if its in (from what I have understood, ATTI) mode, and fly with the wind, for say, 30 meters. I can control it, but it acts as if its under manual. It loves to zoom off. It seems quite unstable. It just seems to ignore the GPS.

Its balanced, has carbon props on it (also balanced), and shows no errors when I connect it too the software, I also tried upgradring to 4.0 - but no luck.

Any idea on how, or what it could be causing it to ignore GPS mode and fly like a kite?

Are you flying in an open area or in a place with tall buildings or trees all around you? Gps needs direct los to at least 6 satellites and if it doesnt get these it reverts to atti mode. The more open sky you can see the more success you will have with the gps mode, if your flying in a dense area best to just fly atti mode so you will know what to expect. If it keeps going in and out of gps mode due to a poor location it will be quite hard to control as the 2 modes behave quite differently.

I'd double check the FBOSD-ghost install. That wires onto the GPS puck, ensure that hasn't been damaged, then double check the other ghost connections. Having installed one myself, I can say they are a little tricky to get on the first shot!

Well, last night I ended up going through the ghost, and all other wirimg no problems there and the NAza assistant shows no obvious error it gets GPS and compass readings. I'm flying in a field so location is not the problem.
Really feeling stuck with this one...