New phantom just arrived

Reaction score
Hi all,
First what a great forum, been lurking since mid march, ordered a p2v+ may 1st, and it arrived today. Since mid April I picked up a nano quad and a alias quad for practicing purposes, and have had a blast. That is my only rc experience. I am a profesional cameraman and have been working with robotic camera systems for about 5 years now (cam mate jibs, robocam(fletcher) and steadicam) so I have some real world experience with safely "flying" cameras, although they are attached to something on the ground.

I know this is covered, but maybe a sticky should be put up... Once getting the quad, what should the user do? Besides the obvious of charging all batteries and compass calibration what is the next step? Do I need to update firmware? Will my iPad be okay doing so or should hook up to a computer?

Thanks all
Kyle in fl

ZeroGravity said:
Hi all,
First what a great forum, been lurking since mid march, ordered a p2v+ may 1st, and it arrived today. Since mid April I picked up a nano quad and a alias quad for practicing purposes, and have had a blast. That is my only rc experience. I am a profesional cameraman and have been working with robotic camera systems for about 5 years now (cam mate jibs, robocam(fletcher) and steadicam) so I have some real world experience with safely "flying" cameras, although they are attached to something on the ground.

I know this is covered, but maybe a sticky should be put up... Once getting the quad, what should the user do? Besides the obvious of charging all batteries and compass calibration what is the next step? Do I need to update firmware? Will my iPad be okay doing so or should hook up to a computer?

Thanks all
Kyle in fl