Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

New Phantom 3 controller joystick

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ploob925, Jul 26, 2016.

  1. ploob925

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just purchased a Phantom 3 Standard and have a question about the left altitude joystick. When I pull it all the way down it clicks into that position and stays there unless I give it a little bump to unlock it. Is that supposed to happen? The truth is I've tried 3 brand new ones and they all do it, but customer service says that is not supposed to happen. Any insights would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,876
    Likes Received:
    5,559
    Location:
    US
    Yes, that is by design. You can remove that lock like this.
     
  3. flyboy73

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    Pine Island, SW Florida
    It sounds like you may have something inside the RC controller that is causing replacement joysticks to bind. Have you checked for that?
     
  4. ploob925

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    All 3 of these are new out of the box. Got them at Best Buy. If you have one of these, does yours do that?
     
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,876
    Likes Received:
    5,559
    Location:
    US
    flyboy73, that's how the P3S remote controller works. It's the only P3 with a throttle lock.
     
    Chris Hunt likes this.
  6. flyboy73

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    Pine Island, SW Florida
    Well, there you have it! You can always put your money on advice from msinger. He is an invaluable resource here.
     
    msinger likes this.
  7. ploob925

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Throttle lock? So if I move it to where it locks it will hold the throttle? I'm just starting out here and that seems strange that I would have to pull down to lock the throttle. So this is the way its supposed to be?
     
  8. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,876
    Likes Received:
    5,559
    Location:
    US
    That's correct. It's a feature that came from the P2 (since it uses a nearly identical remote controller). The idea is that you can lock the throttle in the down position to make it easier to land when coming straight down. I don't like mine locking, so I removed the lock (as you can see in my tutorial above).
     
  9. ploob925

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, I thank you very much. I can't believe Customer Service didn't know this. Well, back to the store to get #3. And would removing the throttle lock like you said void the warranty?
     
  10. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,876
    Likes Received:
    5,559
    Location:
    US
    It might void the warranty for the remote controller if you send it back to DJI like that. You could certainly reattach at a later time. Removing it does not damage the remote controller.
     
  11. ploob925

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I appreciate all your help. I have a feeling I'll be asking a lot of stupid questions here, so its good to know there are folks willing to help out.
     
  12. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,876
    Likes Received:
    5,559
    Location:
    US
    No problem. There are a lot of great people on this forum. Feel free to ask if you need anything :)