New Phantom 2 flips over at take off & other issues

Reaction score
Hello, I'm a Phantom newbie. I got my Phantom 2 a week and a half ago. I live in the Cleveland, Ohio area, and decided to try my first flights indoors in a gym, vs. freezing outside. Before my first flight, I updated the firmware on both the RC and the Phantom. At this point I headed to the gym.

I started up the controller and then the Phantom, then waited for the lights to tell me it was good to go. Being indoors, I never got past the constant slow amber light flashing. I decided to go ahead and start up the motors. As soon as they started up, they went to a very high speed, and the quad flopped over. On the second try to get it up into the air, it flopped over again. The third time I started up the Phantom, the motors didn't go to full RPM, but this time just started in what seemed like a typical idle speed. So far so good, I decided it was time to try to lift if off the ground, I slowly pushed the left stick up and the quad again flipped over sideways. Flip it back over and try a fourth time, again it started up in a slower idle speed, so I tried to lift again, and again it started to flip over to the right, but I hit the right stick and tried to compensate, and it shot up, and then went very fast to the right. This time it ended badly, smacking a wall. Maybe indoor flying wasn't the best place for my first flight. I broke 2 of the 4 props, and decided to call it quits for that night.

I will also say that both switches on the controller are in the top position.

I figured out that when I updated the firmware, I placed the controller into mode 1. I ended up in the firmware again, this time choosing mode 2. I headed back to the gym tonight.