New Phantom 2 and H3-3D Gimbal help please.

Reaction score
I have just set up my Phantom 2 and Gimbal but did have some issues after doing the Firmware Upgrades. I first notice the X1 wheel was not operating the Gimbal and then I had issues where I could not start the motors.

I have upgraded the Firmware for the Phantom, Gimbal and RC to the latest versions.

My RC is Mode 2 and what I did notice was that when moving the left stick (Yaw) to the left there was a slight movement of the Gimbal to the left and when I moved it to the right, there was quite a violent movement to the right with more range of movement.

I have my Gimbal settings so that the camera can move between pointing straight down to slightly above horizontal.

Several IMU Advance Calibrations later and the X1 wheel is working OK and the motors start. (I have yet to do a compass calibration as I have yet to take it outside).

However, the Gimbal is still moving as previously described when I operate the left stick. The motors are not running at this time. Is this normal?

I have not changed any other settings and my Phantom weighs in at 1360g with Gimbal and FPV Set Up. Is there anything I need to change to accommodate the extra weight? Likewise, if I add the module for the iPad Ground Station will I be pushing the weight to much?

Thanks in anticipation :)

yes my gimbal moves with the left stick as well, i've never changed any of my gain settings

I am at work, but I had a similar problem. I forgot exactly what I did, but I thought I calibrated the remote control, then calibrated the Phantom in Basic mode pertaining to the gimbal control.

Then it was OK. mine was a H4-3D, but I would think the results would be the same.

Thanks for taking the time.