Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

New P3S losing video signal

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by InspectorJim, Feb 17, 2016.

  1. InspectorJim

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kokomo, IN
    I bought this about 10 days ago new from Best Buy. Read and watched all the videos. Updated all the software. New updated firmware installed today.
    This was my first day to fly. All checked out good in my garage but then I started losing the video signal. I took it outside and the same problem.
    Thought it might be my new Nvedia Shield K1, so I tried it on my Samsung Galaxy 3, the same problem.
    I power on the controller, then the bird, then open the go app, and within 5 minutes of just sitting there it starts to lose the video signal. As it continues for another (maybe) 5 minutes the video wont come back, so I reboot everything and the process begins again.
    I have searched the forum but didn't find an issue like mine.

    "Sure could use a little help with this...."

    (Ive had the FC40 for the past 1 1/2 years)
     
  2. katzmix

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2015
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    6
    Did u try another location? May have a lot of interference. Sometimes i turn it on next \o my front steps. But i will not get a signal until i walk away from the house. 25 feet or so.
     
  3. Bob8619

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Ft Myers Florida
    Yes try elsewhere and see if it fixes it.
     
  4. InspectorJim

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kokomo, IN
    katzmix & Bob8619
    Thanks for the quick response. Yes, I tried several areas in my driveway. I live in the country so not much interference here. I downloaded a WiFi Analyzer app some time ago and pretty much know the WiFi signals around here (my house). Don't know if it makes a difference but my FC40 works perfectly.

    I certainly don't know everything but I do like solving puzzles. However this one has me stumped. (defective product or user error)

    I'll try to clarify a bit better. After about 5min. the top of the screen flashes between red and yellow then says disconnected. I check and the WiFi is still connected, just no video. Bird will start and shut down....haven't had it off the ground yet.

    Wanting to solve this as the wife and I are going to the Blue Chip Casino this weekend and I want to get some videos of lake Michigan. FC40 is fine but only get 8 minutes per battery.

    I have the day off tomorrow (Thursday) and will try another location as well as any other suggestions.
     
  5. Bob8619

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Ft Myers Florida
    Go exchange it before it's too late maybe. If you're in a rural area and having that much trouble id think it's defective
     
  6. markstoys

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    19
    MAN see nobody else is having this issue.that is what I was told by certain members.so its not just me after all bet it started after updating
     
  7. markstoys

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    19
    question did al this start after updating ..seem just a few of us are having this ,that's what I was told NOT I did see where on mine when I lost signal (video) I would like close dji go app then reopen it it would be fine let me try to explain do not close app on my tablet there is like back button that is what I hit then hit it again it will reopen ,don't get it confused with closing app and reopening it just hit the I want to say the back button on the front side of the tablet sorry cant explain well because I don't know the exact buttom it looks like a u turn arrow hope I don't hear shizte about this some here love to attack
     
  8. InspectorJim

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kokomo, IN
    markstoys,
    I had installed the go app on my Samsung 10 days ago when I got the P3S, which did a firmware update.
    I just got my Nvidia Shield K1 today and installed the go app., and loaded google maps cache. It went through another firmware update (it seemed like the first one). At that point I was ready to fly, but that's when it started loosing video.

    During the past 10 days I viewed it a couple of times on my Samsung and took a few pics just to get familiar with it. I thought first it was the Shield but then it was happening on the Samsung as well. So maybe it is a firmware issue......?
     
  9. Hank Terrebrood

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    ---
    Open it up, there are several videos on how to do this (4 screws and gently rock the bottom side to side to un-mate the antenna housing) and see if your antenna are connected. It will take less than 3 minutes to make that determination. If they are, I'd exchange the drone.
     
  10. InspectorJim

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kokomo, IN
    Well kinda good news.....I installed Litche and all seemed fine....until I took it outside for a test. Lost signal again. The problem was it switched from the WiFi of the bird back to the WiFi at my house. So I moved further from the house and began my first flight, which only lasted 2 minutes as the batteries were drained, the wind was blowing hard, and it was extremely cold. (so much for the warmer weather forecast).
    Ive worked hard on this all day and can confidently conclude that it was user error. The new updates were fine, the rc fine, bird fine.

    It looks like Saturday will be the next test flight as this is weather dependent.

    I may be wrong but I believe the Litche app is an enhanced version of the go app, but the go app is still a necessity. I say this because reading in the Litche app it states to check the go app to make certain changes and look for updates, then close out and start the Litche app. At any rate Ive plenty to play with....Thanks to you that have chimed in to help....

    And it looks as though katzmix & Bob8619 nailed this one.....thanks guys!!!
     
  11. InspectorJim

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kokomo, IN
    Bad/Sad News

    UPDATE: Tried it today same video problems.....So I took it back and got another new P3S.....Same Issue!!!!
    I opened with the Go app with my Shield and had a very laggy image. It said an update was required. I did not update... I then opened the Go app with my Galaxy, no video image and no request to update.....I tried the Litche app with both devices with the same results......These were all performed in an are with no interference.

    Now I'm totally confused......

    Any advise would be well appreciated....
     
  12. InspectorJim

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kokomo, IN
    More evaluations:
    Go app is a no go for me....
    Liche app, starts lagging then I change the device "preview quality" to 4mbps (from 6) it takes the lag away and works fine. Then I try the 10mbps and works just fine. So I now leave it at 6, seems to be the best for me on my 2 devices....

    So maybe it's a camera issue we're having problems with???