New P3P: To update the Firmware or not to update, that is the question. What would you do?

Should I leave my FW alone or update it when I get my new P3P?

• Yes, update your FM to the latest.

Votes: 6 60.0%
  • No, that would be a mistake. Just fly it the way it comes.

Votes: 4 40.0%

• Total voters
Reaction score
Edit: Went ahead with the update and it worked out perfectly. No issues and it flies great. Thanks everyone.

----

I am new to this hobby and I have my first Phantom coming in today from the $799 deal on ebay. I have been researching everything and I have found a lot of controversy about the firmware and the ill effects of attempting updates. A lot of people seem to either brick their phantoms with failed updates or cause all sorts of problems afterwards. However the official "responsible" thing is to update it when I get it and make sure everything is the latest. It seems there are camps on each side that advocate for or against updates. I'm not sure what version mine will be when I get it (maybe another ebay deal person can tell me?), but there is a new 1.7 version out and I'm tempted to get it done right away.

So what side do you fall on and what is your reasoning? Can I get away with leaving everything outdated? Or is that ill advised?

Last edited:
I updated my pretty new (less than a month old) P3A to 1.7 last night. No issues and tests ok although I haven't flown yet. I would go ahead and do it.

Reactions: NormanNormal
All depends on what is on the P3 when it arrives.

All depends on what is on the P3 when it arrives.
So if it arrives with all the latest firmware and app would you advise the original poster not to fly it?

Reactions: smitty152