Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

New P3P firmware not specified

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by CE1, May 13, 2016.

  1. CE1

    CE1

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Just upgraded from a P2 to a P3P. Debating if I should update firmware.
    It states now in the dji go app that the firmware it has on it now is
    not specified. Been hearing bad things about the different firmware upgrades. Everything seams to be working, the only thing I had to do out of the box was calibrate the IUM.
    Should I try and fly without upgrading firmware?


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,832
    Likes Received:
    5,544
    Location:
    US
    It's your call. Most people don't have trouble installing the updates when following these instructions.
     
  3. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    Check which version you have on the drone, some are shipping with 1.5 which was pulled by DJI due to problems.
     
  4. CCDD

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2015
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    384
    Location:
    US
    I would go straight to the most current, 1.8. Seems to work well for most, just follow instructions with updating FW.
     
  5. BDOG

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    108
    Location:
    San Jose Ca and Lake Tahoe NV
    When you do choose to fly with whatever firmware you have. Do a close "hover" and then move the drone back and forth so that you know you have control at a close distance. Make sure the Homepoint was updated so that if it needs to it can return and land.
     
  6. CE1

    CE1

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    I may try a flight and see what happens. But put my trackamo on it


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  7. CE1

    CE1

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Have done 45 flights in 4 states and have had no problems


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots