Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Standard New P3 standard won't connect to android

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Dhale404, Aug 14, 2016.

  1. Dhale404

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    i just bought my drone and I can't get it to connect to my phone. I try to connect to the wifi and it always tells me there is an authentication problem. I can't seem to get past this step. The dji go app also says I should be able to get to camera mode from the hardware menu and it doesn't look like I can there are no icons for camera mode. I'm kinda disappointed that this drone came with so little instructions and no troubleshooting guides whatsoever. Hoping you guys can help me out!
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,530
    Location:
    US
    Did you try following the steps in the included quick start guide? Does your mobile device show it's connected to your Phantom's Wi-Fi?

    FYI, you can download the Phantom manual here.
     
  3. Dhale404

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've followed the QuickStart quide. My problem is that I can't connect to the phantoms wifi. I enter the password it connects for a minute - 30 seconds then displays an "authentication error"
     
  4. Jack Barone

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Buffalo, New York
    Try restarting everything, including phone. Put phone in airplane mode, then turn wifi on and connect.
     
  5. Dhale404

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Still no luck
     
  6. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,530
    Location:
    US
    Did you try a different device -- to rule out a possible issue with the device itself?
     
  7. mdowney58

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    113
    Location:
    Mountain City, TN
    Is it possible that registration is required first?

    Sent from my Verizon Galaxy Note4 using TapaTalk
     
  8. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,618
    Likes Received:
    361
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Yes, that would be my first guess.
     
  9. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,618
    Likes Received:
    361
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Welcome to the forum!
    Did you get it?

    Registration part is usually very frustrating procedure, you have to unhook your WiFi from the Phantom, to your local WiFi to register with DJI ("authentication error"). Then back to the Phantom when Registration is complete.

    msingers Help Site
    DJI Phantom Accessories & Tips - Phantom Help

    Rod