Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

New P2V+ gimbal issue?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by prostreetcamaro, Mar 12, 2015.

  1. prostreetcamaro

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    79
    The gimbal on my new P2V+ V3 does not seem right to me. When powered up it is tilted a little to one side. It also does not seem to stabilize the video nearly as well as it should. Here is a waypoint video I made. Check it out and see if this looks normal to you?


    https://youtu.be/DgBZ1nhoTzM
     
  2. jumanoc

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    700
    Likes Received:
    8
    Check if you have activated the FPV MODE in your App Settings.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. prostreetcamaro

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    79

    Thank you I totally missed that! I do have that checked! Now to run out and uncheck it and try it again.
     
  4. prostreetcamaro

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    79
    That fixed the stability. Camera still slightly leans one way though. I am also having a hard time swallowing the poor video quality.


    Here is the video quality of my sony AS100V action cam hard attached to my 350 QX3.


    1080p 60fps

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=npNf-US ... 2wRvcwT16g
     
  5. jumanoc

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    700
    Likes Received:
    8
    Did you do the Advanced IMU calibration with Naza Assistant ? That mus fix camera issue and that is a MUST-DO before flight.
     
  6. prostreetcamaro

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    79


    Yeah I have done that. I read some where that the final value should be around 3000 but mine is around 1500?



    Here is the unchecked fpv mode. Much better! Cant really fly today it is so windy. I was rocking it hard up by the circle. So windy it didnt want to hover in place very well.

    https://youtu.be/_455tIZPTZY
     
  7. jumanoc

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    700
    Likes Received:
    8
    The video quality for FPV maybe low but filming is HD. Try another device (iPad - iPhone etc.) starting with Preview Settings at 320 x 240 and go higuer testing each one. It is normal that camera moves left-right as you move your YAW stick for compensating phantom movement. Get a flight video and post video to check.
     
  8. prostreetcamaro

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    79

    Im not talking about the fpv video. The 1080p recording is pretty bad. I have seen higher quality sharper videos from a cheap mobius cam. The recording quality is very sub par on the dji cam.
     
  9. prostreetcamaro

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    79
    Ok so I broke outa level and found a perfectly level table. Calibrated the imu and the camera still leans a little. Wondering if I should just exchange it with bhphoto where I bought it or does somebody have an idea how to correct it?
     
  10. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    If you have done a successful advanced IMU on a bubble/spirit levelled table and it still does not work, then send it back to BH.
    Thanks
     
  11. JakeMaxxUAV

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    367
    I'm having the same issue. Seems worse after upgrading from 3.08 to 3.12. I've done multiple calibrations and nothing is working.
     
  12. prostreetcamaro

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    79

    I am sorry to hear your having the same issue but glad it's not just me. I might down grade tomorrow and see if that straightens it out.
     
  13. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,216
    Likes Received:
    911
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    You are right your video doesn't look that good. It looks a lot like my vPlus I recently replaced with a V3. The V3 has around 80% of all wiring wrapped in a sleeve cover. I had a problem with interference appearing in the video sometimes. I worked on it by routing some wiring. I opened the camera and checked to see if the rubber ring on the end and it was. Once finished with that I lowered the camera and gimbal unplugged the two and plugged them back in. Since then I have not had anymore interference, and the video has improved. Much more detail then what I have gotten use to seeing.
     
  14. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    That looks pretty good, you might have a very slight tilt, only really saw it when you landed.
     
  15. JakeMaxxUAV

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    367
    I've sent an e-mail to DJI support. Will let you know if they offer a solution. I know there is a solution out there that requires opening up the back of the gimbal, but I'm afraid that might void the warranty. If no solution is given I'll be getting a replacement.
     
  16. prostreetcamaro

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    79
    B&H is looking into this issue for me. They will probably do an exchange I am thinking.



    [​IMG]
     
  17. jumanoc

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    700
    Likes Received:
    8
  18. prostreetcamaro

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    79
    Picked up a Q500 today. Will test it out tomorrow and if I like it like I think I will I will just return the phantom. Just wish the Q500 had waypoint capabilities.
     
  19. burlbark

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    16
    You better hope they put enough solder under the 54328 or your q500 will be going back for repair. Our local hobby shop has had 2 failures now and I have seen several more on the forums.
     
  20. Drone-Outlaw

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    United States,Houston, Tx

    Hey Pro-Street,
    Try using a new/different SD memory card. That corrected it for me a while back.

    Moose