Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

New P2V+ Controller Came in FCC Mode?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by rmwilson, Jul 20, 2014.

  1. rmwilson

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got my new P2V+ a week ago. I've read that all P2V's and P2V+'s are shipped with the controller in CE mode. Mine was in FCC mode (2 beeps) right out of the box! FCC was also selected in the RC System Assistant Software when I checked it. Does this mean that my P2V+ was a recycled return from Amazon.com?

    Ron
     
  2. DownunderPhantom

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grafton, New South Wales, Australia
    Go into the assistant software check the battery and see how many times it has been charged, if you have charged it only once then it should only say once. If it has more recharge cycles then I would say yes, it is a recycled phantom or a very good chance it is a recycled phantom.
     
  3. Cocoa Beach Kiter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    1
    I purchased two from B&H and both were FCC out of the box.
     
  4. slothead

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Frederick, MD, USA
    Mine from B&H was also in FCC mode. I had heard that all shipped in the US (that is - sold from a US retailer), were in FCC mode.
     
  5. rmwilson

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    I checked the battery and it was only showing that it had 3 recharge cycles, which is correct. I guess that's the way they're shipping them in the US now? The first P2V that I bought from B&H back in December came in CE mode.

    Ron
     
  6. vortigern

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    3
    Mine came in FCC mode in the UK
     
  7. tmc6663

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    san diego, ca
    I've purchased the FC40 and the Vision Plus, both we're in FCC mode when bought. The number of cycles on the battery is irrelevant, they could just put a new unused battery in it before repackaging.
     
  8. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,208
    Likes Received:
    906
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    My last two were also in FCC mode in the US.
     
  9. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,409
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Firmware updates can prove if it's been used.
    The naming convention on the sd card can be proof that it has been used.
    If the file name is DJI001.XXX then it means is still new.
     
  10. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    When my Vision+ arrived it was already set to FCC mode.
     
  11. DownunderPhantom

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grafton, New South Wales, Australia
    I know a hobby store that tests all Phantoms before they are shipped to or sold to customers in store. They have identified one that they tested for a customer in store and it did not recognize the controller out of the box, so they shipped it back to the importer and gave the customer a tested and working one.
     
  12. planedr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2014
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Großbissendorf Germany
    I can't remember where I read it, but I recall it saying that they all come in FCC mode by default.
     
  13. happydays

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,845
    Likes Received:
    655
    Location:
    Warrenpoint, Ireland
    Mine came in FCC mode in UK as well.
     
  14. jaxbert

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine was FCC mode out of the box, from B&H.

    I bought and returned two from Amazon... those were both CE out of the box.
     
  15. smaugnaut

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    5
    Got mine from DJI and it came in CE mode.
     
  16. FlyerUK

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    Mine came in CE mode, also in the UK ;-)

    P.
     
  17. smaugnaut

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    5
    Why doesnt anyone order from DJI.com?
     
  18. happydays

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,845
    Likes Received:
    655
    Location:
    Warrenpoint, Ireland
    If anything goes wrong, DJI direct appear to be a nightmare to deal with. At least with a dealer you have some interaction - they are more than likely approachable. The price is the same anyway - always better to give some local firms a turn too.
     
  19. marcuslf

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got a replacement from Amazon, and it was in FCC mode out of the box.
     
  20. Foosy

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    93
    My last two???
    How many drones do you buy?

    ...no wonder some people are not afraid to send them 3km away. If they don't return, just pull a mew one out of the box ;) ;) ;)