New P1 owner 2 questions

Reaction score
I just picked up a P1 for $100 at a flea market (that should have been my first clue). I have done a lot of reading over the last week and have narrowed my issue down to a bad SR6 transmitter. I can not get it to bind no matter what I do. Steady red light inside I push the button it blinks throttle up turn it on and it continues to blink. 3 firmware updates and reloads of configuration files. I have to software set to PPM because I have a single antenna but I also tried DBUS with the same result. I put the radio in front of a frequency counter an got no change when I switched it on. I've been a ham radio operator for 20 plus years so I know my way around electronics. GPS displays and physically looks okay.

Assuming I need a new transmitter what are my options? I know SR6 or DJ6 and new receiver (duel antenna) but are there other DJI options? Can I go 5.8? Something out of a scrapped P2 vision for the rechargeable option and non interference issue with a go-pro? I keep seeing an NDJ6 on ebay is that the same as a DJ6 receiver wise? I have a Spektrum DX6i but I believe that unit is not bind and fly without more then a receiver change. I would need guidance on that and would rather stay OEM anyway.

One last question. In the NAZA M software when running the motor test as you press the individual motor buttons should the motors just "jog" or spin till you release the button? Mine just sort of bump a half turn or so.