New North Carolina Drone Law

I wrote about this in another thread a few days ago. The law does not apply to non-commercial use and does not distinguish between RC planes and multirotors. If, however, you get any compensation directly or indirectly from your photos/videos then you would be covered by the law. It covers "acts" from today forward but penalties won't start until Dec 1st. It requires that operators be licensed by the state and requires a test before licensing. The test will be created by the state DOT. Note "will be". The original law required the test to be created by May 2015 (I do not understand how they can have 3 different dates in the law but I'm not in the gummit) but was amended to let the DOT wait for the FAA to issue their rules. Peter Sachs of the Drone Pilots Association is of the opinion that NC, like other states, does not have jurisdiction over the skies. He also says the law is a violation of the First Amendment. I'm not a lawyer but I've read all the pertinent statutes. It seems like one of the keys here will be the definition of the word "surveillance", which is not defined in the statutes. If every picture/video of something/someone is "surveillance" then every time you take a photo/video of anything with your UAV you would be in violation of the law if you didn't obtain prior permission of what's in the field of view in your lens. Even a landscape shot of nothing in particular would create multiple violations if there were multiple landowners in the shot and you didn't have their permission. This seems pretty crazy on several levels, not the least of which is that a photo of something from the ground without permission is legal but a photo of the same something would be illegal from the air. If you stood on a mountain top and took a photo of the vista it would be legal but if you take the same photo from 6 feet off the ground with your UAV then you're a criminal. I'm sure there will be more to come.