Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

New motherboard ... and P3A won't stop beeping

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Mark Klee, Dec 5, 2015.

  1. Mark Klee

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Swaziland, Africa
    I posted several weeks ago about diagnosing an ESC issue after a crash I had. I eventually came to the conclusion that it was indeed an ESC error and I eventually found a new main board in South Africa that I had couriered to me in Swaziland.

    I have replaced the main board and actually installed 3 new motors at the same time.
    Now everything "seems" to be working correctly except I can't get the initial startup "beeping" to stop and the motors never turn, even on startup like they normally did.

    Any ideas on what the issue could be? All the LEDs work fine, the camera works, and the GPS locks in fine. I even get the front solid red LEDs and the flashing green LEDs in the back - which I believe it the right status that everything is okay. The status on my iPhone says everything is good and ready to go. I originally tried it with the old firmware and then upgraded to the new firmware. The update went fine and all indicators say I'm upgraded. I've double-checked my solder joints and they all seem good as well.

    Thoughts?
     
  2. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    I did read on here the other day that the new style motors need different ESCs and thus different board.
     
  3. Mark Klee

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Swaziland, Africa
    True. There are new boards for the new motors.

    And I have the older motors ... but ordered the older motherboard. The board looked exactly the same as the one I replaced ... does anybody know if the new board looks any different? I assume they sent me the correct board - and they definitely knew I was ordering the older board.
     
  4. Mark Klee

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Swaziland, Africa
    One piece of additional information - if I try to start the motors (even with the beeping happening) I get an error message saying unknown error with an error code of 45.
     
  5. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,229
    Likes Received:
    914
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    ESC's and each ESC Board do need to match. Each board will beep if something is not right with it. When 1st powering up we hear 4 beeps. That is each board sounding off to say it passed it's pre-flight diagnostic test.
     
  6. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,536
    Likes Received:
    1,483
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    Perhaps check to see if you have securely plugged in the GPS module when you put the shell cover back on. It means taking it off again which is a pain, but I think I read somewhere that error 45 is GPS related. Search on that error code before opening up your Phantom again since removing the shell cover is so hard to do.
     
  7. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,536
    Likes Received:
    1,483
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    @Mark Klee - I just saw that you noted GPS locks on fine. Didn't catch that earlier, sorry. Sounds like you do have the GPS connected.
     
  8. Mark Klee

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Swaziland, Africa
    Yeah, GPS works fine. I've stopped plugging/unplugging the GPS to test b/c of fear of damaging the plug. I changed the mode to non-GPS mode so I no longer have to put the top on. This may explain the error 45 issue that I hadn't seen previously.
     
  9. corwest

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    4
    One of your motors connected backwards or crossed?

    Sent from my SM-N910T using Tapatalk
     
  10. Mark Klee

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Swaziland, Africa
    Nope, I've double-checked everything that I know to check. I even went back an re-soldered many of the connections/joints just to make sure there was good contact.
     
  11. corwest

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    4
    I've read that you need to sand off some coating that new motors have on there solder points before soldering them onto the board. Did you do this?

    Sent from my SM-N910T using Tapatalk
     
  12. Mark Klee

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Swaziland, Africa
    Yes, I did on the one motor that had been used previously. However, the new motors that I installed came with the ends already tinned, so I assumed they were ready to be soldered. I can't believe they'd ship motors with the leads tinned that weren't ready to be soldered?!!?!
     
  13. corwest

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yeah it's my understanding the new ones needed sanding. May also want to just replace the last old motor for good measure.

    Sent from my SM-N910T using Tapatalk