New member from Wisconsin

Reaction score
Just about ready to order my P4P. Been doing tons of research and decided that's the one I really want. I was a RC fixed wing pilot for 20 some years and due to a heart attack with complications ended up selling all my RC planes. Ended up moving and now not enough room to take up the hobby (obsession) again. Drones seemed like the perfect answer. The main thing I worry about is not being able to see the thing I'm flying most of the time. Anybody else have the same problem and how long did it take you to get used to that? Oh ya, I live way out in the country.

Reactions: dirkclod
Nothing wrong with being in the country .
Welcome to the forum .
I hope you will find our site helpful and look forward to any input , photo's/video's you might post .
Don't be shy and ask anything if you can't find it by searching .
This bunch here are the smartest you will find anywhere :)

Reactions: Joatman1
Welcome to Phantom Pilots! :)

The main thing I worry about is not being able to see the thing I'm flying most of the time. Anybody else have the same problem and how long did it take you to get used to that?
The Phantom does get lost in the sky easily when flying in normal daylight conditions. You could attach Flytron STROBON lights to help spot it in the sky.

The main thing I worry about is not being able to see the thing I'm flying most of the time. Anybody else have the same problem and how long did it take you to get used to that?

Welcome from a Wisconsin expatriate in Minnesota!

I usually start losing visual contact around 800ft, but 800-1000 I can keep track of it with concentration. Harder to see when I'm flying on cloudy days though, tends to blend in against the clouds. If you lose sight of it, you can always use FPV to re-orientate or hit RTH.

Harder to see when I'm flying on cloudy days though, tends to blend in against the clouds. If you lose sight of it, you can always use FPV to re-orientate or hit RTH.

This.