New member and pilot looking at upgrades.

Reaction score
Hi Guy's complete newbie to both the forum and flying here.....so go easy :D

Got a Phantom V1.1.1 from my lovely Mrs at Christmas, and what a surprise it was too.
After months of eye'ing them up and the odd dropped hint to the Mrs here and there...she took the hints on-board
and I got my toy for big boy's :lol: .

Since receiving my phantom I have been reading up about them, flown it a few times and fitted a Walkera G2D Gimbal to the under side to compliment my GoPro.

Now I've been eye'ing up replacement motor's for them.... :lol: ....the tinkering never ends.
Initially I had been eye'ing up the T-Motors Anti Gravity MN2214's to be used in conjunction with DJI's 9450 Thrust Boosted Prop's , but then I read that you would need to replace the stock ESC's with the P2's ESC's, in order to run correctly....so after a little further reading I discovered that you could also fit the DJI 2312 960kv motors from the P2 to the P1 if you swapped out the ESC's to the P2's ESC's and their also cheaper than the T-Motor's Anti Gravity MN2214's.

So really what I'm asking here guy's is - What would be the best bang for the buck, as well as ease of fitting ?

Ideally I don't want to be swapping out ESC's etc, as I have never soldered anything since metal work class in High School but if
soldering is required to install any of these motor upgrades then "back to school" it is....but if the T-Motors could be installed without swapping anything out as the manufacturer try's to imply in there info, and these would give me either the same or better performance as the DJI P2's 2312 motor's then I would happily swallow the price difference between the MN2214's and the 2312 motor's.

So what's your advice guy's ?