New Location

Reaction score
Hi
I'm a newbie to this forum and the phantom in general but hopefully somebody can help me. I purchased phantom at Xmas in Cayman Islands and calibrated with computer as per instructions etc, had many successful maiden flights there. Now however we have come to Utah and are camping in an RV. Went to fly the phantom this morning, all lights etc working ok but when it went to takeoff it just tilted towards front and wouldn't take off. Unfortunately I don't have access to my laptop now as we left it in cayman. Is there anything I can do as really wanted to fly it here in Zion national park, Grand Canyon etc. please help!!
Regards Simon

This is one time when I would say to someone you need to recalibrate your compass. That procedure does not require your laptop. Good luck, I would be mortified if I had taken mine all that way and it didn't fly.

Wouldn't you know it! I'm planning to go the Grand Canyon this spring, and was going to shoot some video with my new Phantom. I wonder what the problem is, unless it's a safety issue where they don't want folks crashing their machines into other folks.
I'd hate to think it's just a gov power thing...... :evil:

MrTommy said:
Wouldn't you know it! I'm planning to go the Grand Canyon this spring, and was going to shoot some video with my new Phantom. I wonder what the problem is, unless it's a safety issue where they don't want folks crashing their machines into other folks.
I'd hate to think it's just a gov power thing...... :evil:

Probably a bit of both
-there are probably some sightseeing helicopters that fly low, so you wouldn't want to put them at risk
-it's a sightseeing stop, national park, so perhaps they don't want noisy electronic toys flying up over peoples heads disturbing the tranquility, or of course possibly putting them at risk.
or possible litter if the craft goes down, or danger if the craft goes down on a ledge and someone gets hurt trying to retrieve it.