New here.

Reaction score
Hi all.
I'm new to drone and I've just taken possession of a shiny new phantom 3 standard. Nearly bought a bebop 2 but swayed to DJI in the end.
Any tips will be gratefully received :).

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots

check out some of the many other "newbie" posts and the overriding recommendation is "read the manual" and then read it again (for both the bird and any apps that you plan on using). start with a fully charged battery and fly the bird for a while before you worry about doing any firmware updates. Dint know for sure about the standard, but if it has a Return to Home option, make sure to set the height high enough to safely clear any obstacles around your flying area (and double check the units meters or feet?).

Reactions: aermale
Welcome to Phantom Pilots! :)

Download, read, and fully understand the Phantom manual before your first flight. You can download the manual from the P3S downloads page. Also, check out the tips at PhantomHelp.com.

Reactions: yjander and aermale
I agree with the manual reccomendation. There were points I missed when I read it through that were important to get right.
Also, its very important to know how to fly a quad in atti. If you havn't learned to fly a toy quadcopter buy one and learn how.

Reactions: aermale
I recommend not purchasing DJI care and instead getting a Personal Articles policy from State Farm for $60 a year. Covers Loss/Damage/Theft at $0 deductible for full replacement value.

I 3rd reading the manual. It doesn't come with your purchase BTW. You have to find dji website and download the PDF file. Read it , learn it, love it. Read it again.
Use the search feature and answer any questions you may have, before posting. It has saved me a few times.
Watch videos on YouTube before flying. Dji tutorials channel is good. Toms Tech Time is okay also.
Fly simulation first. Understand every button and function thoroughly before your maiden flight.