Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

New here! What to buy?!

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by Tinbum, Mar 22, 2014.

  1. Tinbum

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Greetings all,

    I have been bitten by the drone bug and once again I'm looking to splash some cash on a new toy! Now I'm very new to this so please speak to me like I'm 5!! :)

    I already own a gopro hero 2, and I have been looking at purchasing the Phantom 2 mainly because off all the upgrades from the P1 and what seems to be easier plug and play options. Now my main concern is the compatibility with my Hero 2.

    I've been to get the H3-2D gimbal with the phantom 2 and after some research I think it's safe to assume that some of you have used the hero2 with the H3-2D successfully which makes me happy as I would rather not have to buy a new hero 3.

    For those of you with a hero 2 is everything as easy as if you where using a Hero 3? Am I able to just plug in the gopro to the gimbal and it all work fine?

    Also does anyone have any experience with other Gimbals? I've seen the CNC on eBay but only seen it advertised for the phantom 1. Is it compatible with the P2? Would I just plug it into the same place as the H3-2D? If I could save the £££ that would be awesome!

    I'm glad I've finally found a useful forum of people and I hope you can point me in the right direction!!

    Cheers
     
  2. Jaybee

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Bristol UK
    Welcome.

    The H3-2D for Phantom 2 only works with a Hero 3 due to the GoPro size difference. You'd need a different gimbal.
     
  3. Woody

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    31
    There's a product description on ebay that says the gimbal requires slight modification to work with the Hero2 so maybe it's possible. I inquired about this to the dji dealer and will post his reply.

    I also would like to use the Hero2 to avoid purchasing a Hero3. There is a new Hero3 knockoff on the market that is only about $125 delivered, the SJ4000. It is compatible with the H3-2D.
     
  4. CJ31

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern VA
    From the pics I've seen of that camera there is no port on the rear where the zenmuse would plug in. How could it be compatible?
     
  5. Tinbum

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe the gimbal will plug into the rear port that all gopro have (for attaching back packs)

    Thanks for the response guys. I just need some proof and maybe a "how to" before I spend the cash! :)
     
  6. BALDYIAN

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don"t forget to check the classifieds on here you may pick up a bargain ;)

    Ian
     
  7. jodaddy23

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    tucson arizona
    drone bug , ,really . ugh ..