Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

New Firmware available

Discussion in 'Firmware' started by Pull_Up, Dec 19, 2013.

  1. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    http://www.dji.com/download/phantom-2-vision-downloads/

    New Assistant, Central Board and Autopilot firmware available. Release notes updated:

     
  2. LeoS

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the heads up!

    Seems like it addresses a couple of important issues:

    1). Flyaway situation that may be caused by lack of GPS satellites during RTH trigger (either due to interference or loss of tx signal). Rather than going 'home' without a certain GPS lock, it descends.

    2). Further improvement on detecting bad battery readings that may cause sudden landing (due to 'invalid battery' error).
     
  3. Elginet

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Illinois
    Thanks. I'll save my "I can't get farther than 125' before it loses signal" post until after I do the upgrades.
     
  4. LeoS

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    1
    Elginet: and please let us know whether it's the control signal or the fpv signal that you lost...
     
  5. Migmon

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm pretty sure whenever someone says loses signal they are referring to the dji app wifi signal,especially since the alert on the screen is "signal lost"
     
  6. Knighthawk

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    1
    While I'm glad that dji has released some new updates in that this may fix the horrific problems that PV pilots have experienced this week, I'm a little concerned about the part where if the vision sees less than six satellites it will automatically descend. While I guess that is better than a flyaway, it still concerns me that if your PV is 800 feet away from you, you may experience an unexpected descent and wind up in a tree.
     
  7. Old Gazer

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Eastern Oklahoma
    Be sure that if you have had more than one device connected to the range extender and those devices are near, that you disable the wifi on the device not being used. Both devices can connect to the extender at the same time degrading the signal. This has happened to me

    Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk
     
  8. LeoS

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    1
    I quote..

    What would you rather it do then?
     
  9. gpauk

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    Interesting question.

    As the number of satellites in view reduces so does the positional accuracy, although it depends where in the sky they are. The HDOP parameter can be used to better qualify this.

    But even with reduced accuracy, why not still attempt return to home? If there's any fix at all then it can at least aim in the right direction, and allow the user to take control when closer, using atti mode if necessary.

    6 satellites does seem a high value to give up on GPS with.
     
  10. LeoS

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes, but unless indoor I don't think I've ever seen my PV with less than 10 satellites when flying out there. I don't know enough about GPS and DJI's hardware, but they seem pretty strict with the >7 satellites limit... for one, it won't let you set the home point unless you've locked 7+ sats. So you'd have to experience a drastic change in the environment or a reduction in hardware capability somehow (defect?) to get less than 7 satellites in that session.

    It'd be interesting to know at what point (4 satellites? 5 satellites?) the Phantom is considered 'blind'.

    Maybe if it has the memory to log its flight path, then it can just make use of the compass to fly in the general direction of home in the event of disabled GPS :)
     
  11. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    Maybe it's to do with the postulated "compass disagrees with GPS" cause of flyaways? Perhaps the algorithm is actually saying if fewer than 6 satellites agree with the compass then auto land...



    FULL DISCLOSURE: I don't know what I'm talking about, but whilst waiting for others to update and report back (I did it straight away last time, someone else's turn!) I feel idle speculation from a position of zero knowledge of UAS programming and less than two months ownership of a DJI product is a useful way to pass the time before all the post-update flight reports are in. That and this very nice Cabernet Sauvignon...
     
  12. gpauk

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    About 6 is typically what you need for a sub metre fix (depending on the spread in the sky) - but RTH could still work to bring it to near home even with a 10 metre accuracy, for example. At least then you could see it well enough for good atti or manual control...

    But as you say, they may really mean "GPS totally stuffed" :)
     
  13. gpauk

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    There's a better solution to that though.... But I think thy have probably done this as a helper action while they work on better solutions, which is good!
     
  14. LeoS

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah.

    Btw, I wonder if DJI is collecting information from us with the DJI Vision app?

    I mean, what a treasure trove of samples to analyze to pin point battery and fly-away issues they can be...! (beside the creepy privacy factor heheh)... but I don't mind them doing that to troubleshoot these issues, provided if they're forward about it and if they let us to opt-out of the process.
     
  15. Knighthawk

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well, I sure as hell know what I Don't want, and that is for my $1200.00 bird to be roosting at the top of a 6o ft. tree! 3 satellites should be enough to get a pretty good idea of location and altitude. Certainly 4 or 5 should be enough for the PV to start the RTH process.
     
  16. Shrimpfarmer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Sussex UK
    Has anyone had the nerve to install this new firmware yet. I imagine a post installation report is what we are all waiting for. :?
     
  17. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    To be honest, up in a tree is a waaaay better outcome than smashed to pieces whilst charging its way back to Shenzhen because it's conflicted about where it thinks it is... All given the current state of the firmware, of course.
     
  18. Drone7

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don´t get it,

    If the gps signal is lost, then you can not fly in courselock mode? I want to fly above the water and i like to fly in courselockmode and that mode doesnt need gps so why to descent if you can fly in courselockmode? I dont want the PV to land in to the water or in tree´s or wherever because i don´t see why to do that when you loose gps signal.

    Courselock and Atti should do the job instead on descent
     
  19. LeoS

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    1
    IOC home lock mode requires GPS.
    It needs to know where the phantom is and where you are exactly, to interpret where the direction to you (home) is.

    Let's not start with the assumption that DJI is so stupid to overlook such an obvious solution. They've done a **** good job in packaging a bunch of sophisticated technology in such an easily accessible package that it's easy for people to think this is kid play and a simple product.

    Sort of similar to what Apple has done with their phones and computers I guess.

    Btw, this behavior is for modes that require GPS, and remember that the phantom has already lost contact with your transmitter. So (auto) changing mode will not help anyway, and trying to fly in a direction that it's not certain to be 'home' may result in flying further away from you.
     
  20. Drone7

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wrote homelock first and then i correct myself immediately because i mean courselock.
    If you have the possibility´s to try Apm 2.5, then i want to hear you again. No offense :) It doesnt need GPS for courselock and it can still level itself and it doesnt descent just like that when there is no gps signal.

    I just want to know if the PV doesnt descent when you loose gps signal and if you can use courselock and atti when you see its descent.

    So if you loose gps signal, that means you also lost signal with the tx? That is new for me.