Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

New firmware and new owner questions!

Discussion in 'Firmware' started by TigardMikeR, Dec 2, 2014.

  1. TigardMikeR

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone! Excited to say I've been enjoying my recently purchased Phantom 2 v.2 w/zenmuse h3-3d, gopro 3+ black combo! I even have my own ground station built I plan on sharing soon! But of course I have a few questions..

    The first is firmware upgrading. Is this a separate process for each piece of the Phantom? e.g. controller, ecu, gimbal? Should I upgrade the 3.08 firmware (fly aways and other glitches in mind), and how will this change my flying experience from straight out of the box?

    Secondly, are the course lock and home lock modes supposed to work out of the box or must they be activated? If so, are there risks involved with this?

    Thanks !
     
  2. Hughie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Leeds, United Kingdom
    Enable IOC in the Assistant software. No risks associated with this as UP on S2 is IOC off. Home Lock is an important tool to have anyway as it will bring the craft back to the Home Point regardless of which way it is pointing.
     
  3. crash1sttime

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    926
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    You need to enable Naza mode I think to get IOC, at the top of the assistant software it says Phantom, click it to change to Naza mode
     
  4. njet212

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indonesia
    After enabled Naza mode, make sure your phantom got GPS signal otherwise you can't activated IOC
     
  5. Buckaye

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Orlando
    Just know that switching to NAZA mode gives you more options but also requires you to be a more accomplished pilot. Just make sure you are very comfortable flying the Phantom before you start flipping switches :)

    Good luck!
     
  6. Hughie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Leeds, United Kingdom
    Just make sure that you dont set S1 bottom position to manual. You probably *dont* want that at the moment.
     
  7. TigardMikeR

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the feedback everyone, really appreciate it! As for the firmware im sure someone has some insight on this topic?
     
  8. Hughie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Leeds, United Kingdom
    RC f/w is upgraded using RC Assistant with the PC plugged into the RC.
    Everything else is upgraded via Phantom Assistant with the PC plugged into the Phantom.