Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

New distance record but forgot something

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Mods' started by crash1sttime, Jun 23, 2016.

  1. crash1sttime

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    926
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    On my P2V I have the Itelite panel and its something I'm glad I added, so far with my P2V with a 2D gimbal, bear in mind that one of the aerials is blocked by the motor, my best distance was about 4500ft before FPV would lock up and freeze.

    After reading a MOD on here about moving the blocked aerial outside of the quad I had a look into it, the first thing was a wire, I asked around but they were quite pricey and only available stateside, being in the UK this was a small issue due to the postage cost.

    However some mad googling later I came across this wire

    New High Gain PCB Dual-frequency Antenna Aerial FPV for Parrot Bebop Drone 3.0

    [​IMG]

    Yes its for the Bebop but it turns out to be the ideal length for the job

    [​IMG][/URL][/IMG]

    Looks a little rough I know, but it was purely for a test flight and I will find a better way to mount it soon, in the mean time here is the distance I can hit now with no FPV issues.

    [​IMG]

    And now the bit I forgot

    To change the max flight limit on my quad, so no doubt I could have gone further than that, stupid crash stupid stupid.

    Im off flying at weekend for some charity work im doing so I may get the chance to try again so will let you know.

    Kudo's to the guy who suggested this as a mod, sir i take my hat off to you.
     
    #1 crash1sttime, Jun 23, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2016
  2. jwax

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Albany, NY area
    Please post a picture of where/how you mounted this antenna. Very interesting and nice job!
    John
     
  3. Thebooperman

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yes, good stuff though
     
  4. crash1sttime

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    926
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    @jwax ive since taken the mod off, after i had a couple of hiccups with the quad, im not sure if the mod was the issue but i was just being safe, if you want to do it, simply open the camera and remove the aerial and then use the cable i mentioned, i simply use double sided pads to mount it to the motor on the gimbal, i cant find the original post however that showed the mod but this video shows the mod in place