Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

New Controler on P2

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by bschaub, Dec 28, 2014.

  1. bschaub

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Has anyone tried to bind the new radio/Tx (new camera control wheel) with a P2, not Vision? I cannot get it to pair/bind. Thx much.
     
  2. noiseboy72

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Lincs, UK
    Just checking you have a 2.4GHz version? The vision & vision+ both use 5.8GHz as default.
     
  3. DJIquadzilla

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I have a p2 v2 non vision and hd-3d gimbal works perfect with wheel
     
  4. bschaub

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    I have the 5.8 new radio. DJIquadzilla, what procedure did you use to bind the P2 V2?
     
  5. DJIquadzilla

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
  6. gunslinger

    gunslinger Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,722
    Likes Received:
    497
    Location:
    Least Coast...
    Turn on the P2 without turning on the TX. (No Props,please...) Turn it over and you can see a red light. This red light is also a button. Push the button with something like a pencil point. Turn on the TX. Push the button again... Turn off the P2, turn off the TX and then turn on the TX, turn on the P2... you should be good to go.

    [​IMG]

    This is not the official method, since I don't know what the official method is... But I DO know this works as I figured it out two days ago... Works a charm... :D

    Whoops... found the Youtube...

    [youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jYic0Z6fZ8w[/youtube]

    -slinger
     
  7. jsob

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lancaster, NY
    Re: New Controller on P2

    I saw this thread and I was curious to see if anyone has experience with linking the new tilt wheel controller to a P2 V1? the reason I ask is because I bought the new controller and used DJI's procedure to link it. However after pressing the link indicator LED/link button on the P2 to initiate the linking procedure the link LED starts out flashing red and then after the TX is turned on the LED goes out instead of turning solid green to indicate it is linked successfully. I tested the P2 with the props off and it responds properly to the new remote but I was a little nervous to fly because I thought that the link indicator LED/link button should be solid green when linked to the TX properly.
     
  8. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,922
    Likes Received:
    1,798
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    A 5.8GHz radio will not bind with the non-vision P2 as it is 2.4GHz.
     
  9. gunslinger

    gunslinger Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,722
    Likes Received:
    497
    Location:
    Least Coast...
    Re: New Controller on P2


    I had exactly the same issue and I've test flown the aircraft twice now with no problems at all... You should be good to go...

    -slinger
     
  10. jsob

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lancaster, NY
    OK sounds good. I can feel confident that it is safe to fly. Thanks
     
  11. bschaub

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Well here is a problem that I just caught. The existing controller is 2.4 and the new one is 5.8. Is there anyway to change the new controller freq? Thx much for everyone's support so far.
     
  12. noiseboy72

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Lincs, UK
    Sorry, not easily, as it is more than just a software setting.

    You could however, get a 5.8GHz receiver, but if you have 5.8GHz FPV, you would need to change this as well.

    Best bet would be to try to swap the TX for a 2.4GHz version.
     
  13. p fandango

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    my V2 controller should be here tomorrow, can't wait :)
     
  14. Bluegrass

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    That was my exact thought. I didn't realize you need to specify which you need, a 5.8 or a 2.4 ghz radio.
     
  15. bschaub

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    I'll try. Thx folks for the help.
     
  16. Andrey320

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Calabasas CA
    My P2 came with an extra controller (new version with the wheel). Paired them, works great!
    (haven't tried the camera tilt yet though)
     
  17. bschaub

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    What I have learned. There are two versions of the new controller; 5.8 and 2.4. Make sure that you are purchasing the correct version which you should be able to ascertain by looking at the label on your current controller. The fine folks at Drones ETC are exchanging my 5.8 controller for the correct 2.4.

    Thank you folks again for the help.