Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

New Camera Adapter?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by Bateman233, Jan 5, 2015.

  1. Bateman233

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    3
    Could someone let me know if there will be a new camera adapter coming out for the Phantom Vision Plus? I have been super happy with the reliability of the drone (over a hundred flights with no issues), but the camera is so **** crappy....so crappy.

    Any insight would be greatly appreciated!
     
  2. crash1sttime

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    926
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    What do you mean by camera adapter ?,

    As for the camera, what makes it crappy, ive seen many videos from the P2V+ and the quality is fantastic, much like the standard vision camera without the roll, have you got the settings on the app set to the lowest resolution ? try changing it to 1080p.
     
  3. Bateman233

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    3
    Adapter as in ability to change the camera out for something like maybe a GoPro ect...Or are we stuck with this camera for good unless we buy a whole new quad copter?

    Ya I've read a lot into improving camera quality and have done necessary steps to improve it, but I still feel the quality is sub par...
     
  4. rbhamilton

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    13
  5. Bateman233

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    3

    Hey thank you for sending. Wow, not cheap at all. Here is to hoping that DJI will release something similar.
     
  6. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    I've converted, but not the expensive $400 drone expert way. I've just redirected and removed some wifi module cables and purchased a $10 P2 H33D Zenmuse gimbal cable.

    My Vision+ has the H3-3D and GoPro 3+BE. Love it. It has the best of all worlds. Even better is that I can do 1080 30fps vids and take interval stills at the same time.

    I think its actually cheaper. Why?
    Because I'm no longer stuck with the $700-$800 proprietary Vision+ Camera. I can unmount the GoPro and use it for another purpose, whereas the camera on the Vision is stuck to doing forever aerials. This why its cheaper - I don't factor in the GoPro cost.

    Also, the vision+ camera is not built for purpose. The camera is held the motors magnets and by a friction press fit shaft. I few bump landings and you get tilt. I wont go into detail about tearing a flex ribbon cable after a crash because we know that the phantom vision + was NOT designed to crash in the first place.

    I sold my Vision camera and gimbal and upgraded to the H3-3D for the same price. The P2 cable kit is $10 for the conversion.
     
  7. GRCT42

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    I decided to purchase one after I had some issues with my original V2+ camera.

    Its awesome!:)
     
  8. CapnBob

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I find that I've become dependent on FPV for still and video composition, etc. and cannot imagine flying without it.
    Do you fly blind, or have ALV58 / equivalent?




     
  9. slothead

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Frederick, MD, USA
    I am quite impressed with the camera on my Phantom (2V+). For such a small camera it does a great job. Why do you feel it is "crappy"? What are you evaluation criteria? From your other posts it sounds like you are more concerned with the mount than the camera (which is more understandable). I think the camera itself works and records very well.

    I'm still waiting for DJI to design a Nikon mount for the S1000, but that is another world (several thousand $$).
     
  10. TuT

    TuT

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I also modified my Vision+ with H3-3D Gimbal and GoPro 4. I have done a mod so I still get FPV video and telemetry in the DJI app (same as Vision+). Did my first night flight tonight...VERY happy with the results!
     
  11. Chuck67

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    For those that have converted the vision + to full FPV with a gopro could you please explain how you did it as I am stumped on how to proceed with my conversion. I do not want to go the dronexpert way

    Thanks!
     
  12. ELHEAPO

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    669
    Likes Received:
    213
    Location:
    Blighty
    do you work for a tv or movie company because the quality of the camera is excellent for amateur enthusiasts i really cant understand why you would call it crappy. i think a lot of people are hung up on go pro's but they are noy that much better.
     
  13. cheong

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi Tut,

    I am interested to do this do, can tell us how to do this mod ?
     
  14. Julius717

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    248

    Go pro is better for night flying. I also think the quality of the vision plus camera is average. I do most of my flying in the evening time and I'm limited because the camera

    I'll had been planning to do the go pro swap on my vision ,but instead I bought a inspire. Hopefully that has better night quality
     
  15. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    It works with android.
    For IOS, if you get the busy circular icon, swipe to ground station and back.

    No soldering required if you are doing H3-3d with gopro 3/4.
    You will need the part 3 cables from the phantom 2 non vision. This needs to be its length.
    I'm running mine without the interference board for now. I can install one later as they are just extensions of the 8 pin board.
    Basically, you tear split the 3 gray cables that come from the phantom to the Gimbal board.
    Leave the cable that is plugged into the wifi and plug the other end into the CAM port.
    Then take the Phantom 2 part 3 number and plug that into the Zenmuse 8piin port and the other end into the gimbal.

    Here is the excerpt from RCgroups
    Read it backwards.
    http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthre ... 15&page=18
     
  16. MonsieurAnon

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    If you think that the goPro won't be enough of an improvement there's always this:

    [youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6_9xwHbNOB4[/youtube]