Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

New battery causing P2 error.... please help!

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by PDpro, Apr 1, 2015.

  1. PDpro

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, ME
    I need help with an strange battery error! I recently purchased a new battery from DJI.com <http://dji.com/> and when I put it into my Phatom 2 or my friends P2+ it blinks one green 3 times red. It does not initialize at all. I am in remote part of nepal until june and was hoping I could get it working before then. Any ideas?”

    Here is a video:
     
  2. rockhoundrob

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
    I could be wrong, but I think that means you don't have enough satellites. Try doing a compass calibration, then set it down and wait. Sometimes I have to wait a 1min or two.

    I will take a look at the color codes for that and come back in a little bit.
     
    #2 rockhoundrob, Apr 1, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2015
  3. rockhoundrob

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
    what does the battery light look like? need a video of the battery light and the led on the phantom.

    Also... are you in phantom mode or NAZA-M mode? the led codes are different.

    only other things I can think of right now is is it very cold up there?
    maybe it needs to warm up a bit.

    Also, try cleaning the contacts on the battery and the phantom.

    As far as those lights go, I have the same thing when I start up... 3 red flashes then a green. after say 30 secs, then its 2 red flashes and green flash, etc... until I get 3 green slow flashes. I always assumed it was looking for satellites.
     
  4. thestone11

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Alberta Canada
    If you are running NAZA mode, it is searching for GPS.
     
  5. mohan

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    206
    That looks like Naza mode less than 6 Sats locked on. Each blink indicates 3 more sats needed for GPS flight
     
  6. rockhoundrob

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
    If it is because of lack of satellites,... if you are in a valley or canyon, then you need to get up higher.
     
  7. PDpro

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, ME
    Thanks everybody for the input! I didn't take a picture of the battery, because if lights up normally...

    So I tried what everybody suggested, l left it on longer and eventually it turned just solid red. Again as soon as I swap batteries I am up and running.. Any idea?
     
  8. TeamYankee

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Swansea, Wales, UK
    Excessive RF noise from the "faulty" battery circuitry maybe? Try a working battery with the faulty battery powered on and right next to the Phantom.. same result, flashing reds or a delay in getting a satellite fix?