Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

new batteries reading odd after charge

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Julius717, Jun 13, 2015.

1. Julius717

So I bought 5 batteries last week. Charged them all up. Been flying and I noticed that after completing a charge it doesn't show 100% in the app, 3 of the 5 say 96% after a charge and around 4100mah , anyone else notice this ? I had a critical battery error just a fee does ago also pop up and go away. Now I'm a bit worried to fly far.

2. bobmyers

I think I would be cautious and not put them to the test until you conditioned them for 10 flights.:)

3. Julius717

I've never done that before. I have 6 batteries for my vision plus and never conditioned them.

I plugged them back in and they didn't charge so I unplugged then turn the batteries on plugged back in they began charging again. So we shall see

4. bobmyers

DJI recommends flying the batteries to 50 % for the first 10 flights to condition the cells. There are posts on this forum regarding this.;) Better safe than sorry.

nickyb likes this.
  5. Julius717

Where does DJI recommend this? Never read it directly from DJI it's all been based in opinion

From what I've seen on here that's a recommendation based on LIPO batteries in general. I've used lipos for years never conditioned a battery.

6. bobmyers

Check with blade strike, he can direct you to the source--- He works for DJI

7. Julius717

Not in the manual and not in the literature that comes with the actual batteries either.

8. Jbundy63

9. Jbundy63

I thought this was some pretty good information

10. bobmyers

yes that is very good info--

Jbundy63 likes this.
  11. Jbundy63

That is so weird! Where did you purchase them from?

12. Oso

Oso

I saw this exact same issue with both of my extra batteries. Only a 97% charge when charging completes. The battery that came with the P3 originally still charges to 100%. I didn't do anything differently with the two new batteries.

13. bobmyers