Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

New app installed on iPad. Can not connect to camera

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by iAm, Apr 15, 2016.

  1. iAm

    iAm

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    7
    I installed the new version App 2.7.2 on my iPad air2 version 9.3.1
    I plug everything in, I turn everything on as usual, wait, and it does not connect.
    I plug my iPhone 6s with App version 2.7.1 and I have connection
    Just letting people know what's happening here.
     
  2. Air Ontario

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    493
    Location:
    U.S./ Canada
    Same cable on both devices?
     
  3. iAm

    iAm

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    7
    Here's a screen shot. Does not connect
    I just downloaded the app from the App Store this morning onto my iPad
     

    Attached Files:

  4. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,034
    Likes Received:
    1,620
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Green light on RC means it is connected to A/C.

    Are you unable to go to camera view? Is that your issue? Try swiping left right, check cable connection....reboot App....
     
  5. CCDD

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2015
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    384
    Location:
    US
    perhaps try deleting DJI Go and reinstalling
     
  6. iAm

    iAm

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yes same cable.
    Brand new.
    I learned that one in Mexico.
    I just tried the iPad...no connection
    I Then unplugged the cable from iPad then plugged the cable directly into iPhone and I have camera connection.
     
  7. Air Ontario

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    493
    Location:
    U.S./ Canada
    Correct. So RC is connected you just don't see it maybe because cable from rc to tablet is bad?
     
  8. Air Ontario

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    493
    Location:
    U.S./ Canada
    Ok reboot device (Ipad) or re install app or both.
     
  9. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,034
    Likes Received:
    1,620
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    DJI Go App has a condition (?) in which it gets locked. :)

    You got to follow go app installation steps, go for a clean installation.

    Switching on steps should also be followed:

    RC on >>>>App On >>>> Aircraft on
     
  10. Air Ontario

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    493
    Location:
    U.S./ Canada
    turn off wifi
     
  11. iAm

    iAm

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ok. I deleted App and reinstalled.
    Same result. No camera connection
     
  12. Air Ontario

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    493
    Location:
    U.S./ Canada
    Yep. That's the way I do it and never an issue
     
  13. mandalay

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    141
    Kweaton likes this.
  14. Air Ontario

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    493
    Location:
    U.S./ Canada
    try swiping the phantom page left then right again.
     
  15. iAm

    iAm

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    7
    This is the new DJI App released April 13 version 2.7.2 that I just downloaded this morning from the App Store onto my iPad Air2 to view flying through the bigger screen
    I tried and completed all suggestions...thank you...but still have the same result.
    No connection to camera.
    !Something is wrong in the updated App!!
    Thank goodness I have version 2.7.1 on my iPhone 6s
    It works.
    I'm going out flying to forget about the messed up update and the time I've wasted.
     
    #15 iAm, Apr 15, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2016
    meissner58 likes this.
  16. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    Yes, this seems to be a common problem.

    You have to do an iTunes restore of your device (not just erase) and then install the app again.
     
  17. SZNJ732

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Keyport, New Jersey
    thats good to know!.. after i have read about the new Go app update for android a few days ago, i figured one is coming to iOS pretty soon,
    so i turned off auto update on my iphone. sure enought this morning i see an update for Go app in the app store; i woudve been locked out since i only got one device i can use at this time and dont have a back up (i have an ipad but my 4 year old son has taken over it so im beat. i think it auto updated this morning so im gonna try and wrestle it away from him to see what the new app is all about and if it connects to the bird ok).

    have you tried rebooting your ipad? maybe try with airplane mode on/off see if that works..
     
  18. iAm

    iAm

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yes to all those things.
    3 times over
    The only thing I haven't tried is an iTunes Restore.
     
  19. SZNJ732

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Keyport, New Jersey
    what about DJI log in account (under settings menu)?
    Are you logged in with your user id?
    maybe DJI now requires you to be signed in to their servers via app in order to use their app?

    Also, in your iPad setting menu, does the DJI Go app has access to all permissions?
    - Location
    - Photos
    - Notifications
    - Data

    Also check privacy settings to enable location services,
    and Background App Refresh set to ON
     
  20. Kranmc

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    3
    Try the iTunes restore. It just worked for me. Same problem. Same equipment IPad Air 2.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app