Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

New Adobe Camera Raw v8.4 RC

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by Bïlly, Feb 21, 2014.

  1. Bïlly

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
  2. pault

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Liverpool UK
    Good news ! Should also have the radial filter tool.
     
  3. jimre

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    North Bend, WA
    Radial filter tool was added in ACR 8.0, almost a year ago.

    Keep in mind, the radial filter - and other new ACR features - are only available in Photoshop CC, not CS6. If you still have CS6, the new ACR updates will give you the new camera & lens profiles, but none of the new features.
     
  4. ResevorDG

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    No updates for Lightroom yet.
     
  5. pault

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Liverpool UK
    Dissapointing - I guess Adobe are trying to push CC.
     
  6. ResevorDG

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    They are pushing me in a direction all right, and it's not toward CC.
     
  7. jimre

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    North Bend, WA
    Well, I don't think it's unusual. Most companies only add features to their current product offerings, not older discontinued versions.
     
  8. pault

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Liverpool UK
    Yes, I can understand that but the camera raw opens in its own window from bridge/ps/lr so I hoped that it would be included in 8.4. Just wishful thinking on my part ;) I cannot really justify the monthly cost of CC. It is not surprising that Adobe wants to push CC given the wide availability of cracked versions of their products.
     
  9. PAValentine

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ft. Worth Texas
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe Lightroom uses the same ACR as Photoshop.
     
  10. ResevorDG

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    From what I can tell by looking at file locations on my computer, you are correct.
    If you modify it for one program, you modify it for both.
     
  11. jimre

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    North Bend, WA
    Yes and no. Lightroom is built around the same core ACR engine, but it uses its own self-contained version of it - along with its own set of lens profile files. If you install this new ACR 8.4 release candidate - Lightroom will not see any of the new lens profiles.

    Lightroom and ACR/Photoshop *do* share a common directory for user-customized lens profiles:

    (for Windows) C:\Users\<YOUR USER NAME>\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\CameraRaw\LensProfiles\1.0

    So if you copy any of the new ACR 8.4 lens profile files to this directory, then Lightroom will see them.
     
  12. jimre

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    North Bend, WA
    Agree, the whole creative cloud subscription thing seems quite expensive, especially for casual users. But the one pretty good deal they have is their creative cloud "Photography Program" - for $10/month you get the current full versions of both Lightroom and Photoshop.
     
  13. AnselA

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Declination +8° 11'
    Does this new FC200 lens profile also correct videos having FoV less than 140 deg?

    (I don't have CC or CS5 extended or CS6 extended, cannot try)
    (ProDRENALINE FC200 correction works only for FoV 140 videos.)
     
  14. jimre

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    North Bend, WA
    Photoshop does the automatic correction for narrower-FOV videos, but of course it over-corrects - since the default seems calibrated for the full 140° FOV. If you did this, you'd probably have to use the slider manually to back off the default distortion-correction.

    I don't think there's any way for Photoshop to automatically know what FOV setting was used to shoot the video.
     
  15. jimre

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    North Bend, WA
    Also, the new profile is not significantly different than the old one. There are only two changes to the .LCP file compared with the November beta version posted by DJI:

    Comparing files PHANTOM VISION FC200 - RAW.lcp and PHANTOM VISION FC200.LCP

    ***** PHANTOM VISION FC200 - RAW.lcp
    stCamera:CameraRawProfile="True"
    ***** PHANTOM VISION FC200.LCP
    stCamera:CameraRawProfile="False"


    ***** PHANTOM VISION FC200 - RAW.lcp
    stCamera:SensorFormatFactor="5.643778"
    ***** PHANTOM VISION FC200.LCP
    stCamera:SensorFormatFactor="5.6"


    The first is changing the RAW flag to "True". The second looks like a slight refinement to the "Sensor Crop Factor", eg as compared with full-frame 35mm sensor.
     
  16. AnselA

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Declination +8° 11'
    There could be 3 different profiles for 3 different FoVs and the user selects the right one.
    ---
    stCamera:SensorFormatFactor="5.643778"

    5.643778 is more accurate than 5.6 for 1/2.3" sensor.
     
  17. ResevorDG

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA

    Are you saying I should go into my profile and change 5.6 to 5.63778?
     
  18. jimre

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    North Bend, WA
    No. I'm saying I did a file compare, and this is one of only two differences between the newest profile and the original beta version posted by DJI in November.

    I have no idea what the "stCamera:SensorFormatFactor" is actually used for, if anything.