Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

new 3 d gimbal won't point fully down.

Discussion in 'Zenmuse H3-3D/H4-3D GoPro Gimbal' started by thumpinhard, Sep 21, 2014.

  1. thumpinhard

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    i bought the p 2 with the zenmuse factory package from amazon and used it without the gimbal for a couple of days and now that i feel comfortable i installed the gimbal and it does not point all the way down. after reading a lot of post about dead gimbals afar f.w. updates i am not sure i should even try that.
    i did the update on the p-2 and everything else looked updated..but that was before i added the gimbal.
    any ideas of why it would not go fully down?
     
  2. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    You probably need to calibrate the lever on the controller via the RC Assistant software, and then the X1 channel in the Phantom Assistant.
     
  3. thumpinhard

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    i will try that. thanks. i went to calibrate it and it seemed like it didn't need it..i will try again,
     
  4. Damon

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Eastern Wa.
    Also in Phantom Assistant software check the tab marked gimbal. You can fine tune the horizontal and vertical limits plus the gain. Horizontal will dictate how much you can deviate from straight forward 90 degrees. Vertical will dictate how much you want it to stop short of or past straight down. Gain will dictate how slowly it moves from one point to the other - I use a gain of 2, a horizontal of -5 and a vertical of 0. You may have to adjust your vertical to go past what it believes is straight down.

    But do a Full IMU calibration on level surface.

    As stated above just running RC assistant and calibrating X1 then calibrating your full range of RC into Phantom might fix it before moving onto my suggestion.
     
  5. thumpinhard

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    i a did try going in and adjusting the gain etc first. i will do the other calibrations tonight. thanks for the tips.
     
  6. thumpinhard

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    resolved finally by just adjusting the x-1 lever way left.
    it did not adjust at first and then after calibrating again it is finally good to go.