Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Need wifi module.

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Help' started by hot dog, Mar 31, 2016.

  1. hot dog

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    California
    Where to buy?
    Thanks,
    HD
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,022
    Likes Received:
    5,599
    Location:
    US
    These are tough to find brand new (at a reasonable price). You can buy a used module on Amazon or on eBay.
     
  3. hot dog

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    California
    Can you trust a used one?
    I bought one used and could not get it to bind.
    Might be my binding technique.
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,022
    Likes Received:
    5,599
    Location:
    US
    It might be the only option if you're not able to find a new module.
     
  5. hot dog

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    California
    True.
    Eventually all p2v's will face this problem.
    Most firms would continue to provide parts even after introduction of a new model. DJI not so much.
    Thanks singer, I appreciate your insight.
    HD
     
  6. AzDroner

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    14
    Don't waste your money on a used one. Here's one for the going price of 189.00, before you buy, contact them and make sure it's the new perforated model and that it's in the factory packaging.
    DJI Phantom 2 Vision Wi Fi Signal Transmission Module | eBay
    I just bought one from Helipal dot com in China, 189.00, 5 shipping, got it in about 10 days.
    There's one on ebay for 200.00, but I'm pretty sure it was sold once and returned to the guy as defective. Make sure you get sealed factory pkg.
     
  7. hot dog

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    California
    Is it possible to repair this unit?
     
  8. AzDroner

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    14
    No - depending on how bad it is, doing the arctic silver heat sink treatment to it might get you to the point where you can use it at 320 setting, not likely 640, depends on how bad it is. Generally speaking, can't fix it.
     
  9. hot dog

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    California
    Just askn', do you have microscope? I've heard one's required to reinstall those tiny components.
    I used to mess around with micro helicopters. Their pcb's were often screwed up as a result of crashes. No matter how severe the damage, there were guys who could fix 'em.
     
  10. AzDroner

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    14
    Never heard of anyone repairing one of these.
     
  11. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Prevention is best. Artic Silver mod on all modules when brand new. The white seamen paste DJI uses doesn't dissipate heat very well...

    I have a spare/backup v2 non-perforated wifi module and prebinded to a spare RE700. Its got the artic silver mod, never boosted or wifi file transferred and does average of 700m @ 640x480 @ 30FPS and 850m @ 15FPS (100m altitude).

    The only problem is that I'm scared that my perforated main unit may die and these become units become rare and pricey...