Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

NEED MORE POWER

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Discussion' started by khaosxbez, Mar 21, 2014.

  1. khaosxbez

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    i need more power in my fc40 im lifting an sony rx100 and the orginal fc40 camera.

    do i get bigger batteries if so what size and where from?
    or
    do i do dual batteries???
    or
    bigger props???
     

    Attached Files:

  2. DesertFlyer53

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ridgecrest, CA
    This is a joke right? You're pulling our collective legs, right? :lol:
     
  3. khaosxbez

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why would it be a joke?
     
  4. GMANNZ

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    If it was meant to carry such a load you wouldn't be having any issues ..... ??

    If you want to carry larger cameras, you'll need a bigger machine ....
     
  5. khaosxbez

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    It carries it just not for to long about 4-5 min
     
  6. GMANNZ

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand

    I have seen guys lift a FULL DSLR camera with a Phantom ..... but given the Phantoms size and motor and battery size ... its not what they were built for.
     
  7. khaosxbez

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just want to know best option to get better flight time
     
  8. LandYachtMedia

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Central North Carolina, USA
    You're going need a bigger Phantom. Putting MORE stuff on there to try and boost flight time is the last thing you want to do. What you want to do is remove that camera and sincerely apologize to that little machine.

    Keep flying that much load and it could soon turn catastrophic from overloading the electronics in there.

    If you intend to fly with that camera buy a FlameWheel 550. It will handle the load with some room to grow.
     
  9. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    +2

    Even if you removed the FC40's camera, the RX100 is a bit bulky for the Phantom...not completely outside the realm of possibility, but you're never going to get great flight times with it.

    The best you can do is remove the FC40 camera, throw on the 9" stock props from the P2, and get a 2700-2800mAh batt. But you may still end up chasing your tail.

    I am interested in hearing your impressions of the RX100, I'm looking at putting one on my 550 but I can't decide if the RX100 II is worth the price difference (heavier, but better sensor). Also, do you regret not having interchangeable lenses? That's the main thing keeping me from deciding on that camera rather than a NEX5 or GM1
     
  10. khaosxbez

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0

    The RX100 is awesome and I don't thing the price diffrence from 100 to the II is enough to upgrade
    I'm going to eventually upgrade to the f550 just need to make some money with this first lol
     
  11. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Sweet, thank you, that's exactly what I needed to know :)

    BTW, if you're still determined to throw it on your Phantom and have very deep pockets, I did just discover this option: http://dronexpert.nl/product/dji-phanto ... converter/

    From this thread by someone who plans to use it on a P2V: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=10594
     
  12. khaosxbez

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have seen that mount but if I had that kind of money I would get the 550