Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Need Help with the Receiver.

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by Crank, Jan 1, 2015.

  1. Crank

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please forgive the repost from the help forum over to here. I haven't had help from anyone on my problem below. It's either no one in the help forum or people haven't done this before. I apologize for not knowing the basics. This is the first time I've installed a receiver and servo. I know if I make one tiny mistake, I could smoke everything. I don't know the polarities and if I need a separate power supply. My kitchen table is cluttered with my P2 and my wife is ready to shoot me. I've read the Futaba book and watched videos. Surprisingly I can't find a thing about this. Any help at all is greatly appreciated.

    I'm doing pretty good squeezing all the hardware into the P2. Right now I can not figure what I need to do for my retracts.
    As you can see in the attached picture of the pinouts on the Futaba R6014FS receiver, I have the original receiver swapped out. I think that part of the receiver upgrade is wired right.... So far. I watched a few youtubes on how to do that. If anyone sees something wrong there please let me know. I haven't confirgured anything in the transmitter radio yet. I do have the receiver matched to my radio.
    I'm stumped on how to hardwire my retracts. Both of the servo retracts are going through this little black box and one servo cable comes out to be plugged into WHERE? With a H3-3D Zenmuse, I'm using channels 7, 8, and 9. I don't know. CORRECT? So if that's true then I'm guessing my retracts are CHANNEL 10? Black wire down or up? I assume the polarity needs to be correct. It shows I have it in the channel 10 slot now. I don't know if it's right. The next thing is the two smal red and black power wires coming out of the black box. Do I need another heavy battery to run my retracts? Or can I tie those wires into the P2 power? SOMEWHERE? Next thing is programming. That's another story though.
    Any help y'all can give me is highly appreciated. Please help. I've read and watched videos all day and I can't find a dang thing on it. I'm STUCK!
     
  2. IrishSights

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,410
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Bangor, Northern Ireland, UK
  3. Crank

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry. Forgot to move the picture.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. IrishSights

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,410
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Bangor, Northern Ireland, UK
    I am sure there are knowledgeable folks here who would know what your talking about. As its no longer a Phantom you might get more responses on Futaba threads at the likes of Rcgroups
     
  5. Crank

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply back.
    I'll give that a shot also.
    I know there must be others out there that have done the same upgrade. Please chime in also.
    Thanks
     
  6. Buckaye

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Orlando
    Helifreaks is also a place that has a huge following if No one here has experience with this setup...
     
  7. Crank

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Serious!? Sorry, I thought this was a big thing here. My bad.... I'll give that a shot also. Thanks.
     
  8. Buckaye

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Orlando
    Not saying you won't find someone with the answer here... Just trying to get you a few extra places to check. Helifreaks has thousands of people online at any given moment whereas this is a bit more of a niche forum that's all...
     
  9. Crank

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Helifreaks is also a place that has a huge following if No one here has experience with this setup...[/quote]
    Serious!? Sorry, I thought this was a big thing here. My bad.... I'll give that a shot also. Thanks.[/quote]

    Not saying you won't find someone with the answer here... Just trying to get you a few extra places to check. Helifreaks has thousands of people online at any given moment whereas this is a bit more of a niche forum that's all...[/quote]
    No problem. I appreciate the help.
    The people here are fantastic especially when it comes to DJI equipment and related accessories. They have helped me many times recently. I could not have gotten where I am now.
     
  10. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,929
    Likes Received:
    1,800
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    Channel 8 is available for your retracts. The P2 and gimbal are on the lower 7. Run the S-Bus cable to the Phantom as normal and then connect channel 8 to your retracts. You'll need to program your TX to reflect that.
     
  11. Crank

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your reply.
    I'm running a H3-3D gimbal. Doesn't' that take up channels 7,8,9????? Does the 3 axis of the gimbal use just channel 7? That would be great!
     
  12. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,929
    Likes Received:
    1,800
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    Gimbal uses 1 channel which is for tilt control.
     
  13. Crank

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Let me get this straight in my head... One channel for all three axis. Pitch, Tilt, Yaw?
     
  14. IrishSights

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,410
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Bangor, Northern Ireland, UK
    Only the tilt is over radio, yaw and pitch are all onboard communication
     
  15. Crank

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok. Now I understand. Thanks.
    Sorry guys... This is all new to me. :D In time... In time.