Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Need help whit ftp for control make photo

Discussion in 'FPV (First Person View)' started by mauritz, Aug 8, 2014.

  1. mauritz

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a phantom 2, zenmuse 3h-2d and gopro 3+ black edition. I have use the gopro app for iphone, but its on same mhz 2.4, and interrupt whit the phantom ,same 2.4. its also very short range.
    I want to photo for realestate and looking for a fpv for this. I look and read about the
    Iosd mini,
    Iosd mak
    Dji lightbrige
    Avd reciver
    Black pearl
    Botcam
    Ground station
    Etc….
    I want the ftp whit the monitore black pear or what ever to control when I film and take photo. To stop and start.
    I can turne on the gopro befoure take of and filming and take photo every 5 second, but the resolution is very low to do so..so how control the gopro for take high resolution photos whit FPV.
    Thx
    mauritz
     
  2. ATC Drone Flyer

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unfortunately, I've been told that the functionality you seek is currently impossible. See this thread: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=21292 :( . . .

    . . . and this one: http://goprouser.freeforums.org/remote- ... 8117538ede

    Apparently you and I are the only Phantom Pilots on earth who see this functionality as useful. Very disappointing :x
     
  3. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    I think you can blame gopro for this (and part of the reason DJI sidestepped gopro on the P2V/P2V+)...the Hero 3 has limited ability to address the camera controls externally (via port connection).
     
  4. ATC Drone Flyer

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dear OI Photography,
    Thank you (as always) for your reply and input, however I'm not sure if that statement is 100% accurate. Check this site out: http://cam-do.com/ . They sell all kinds of interesting gizmos for the GoPro. Such as:
    Programmable Schedulers
    Time Lapse Intervalometers
    Motion Detectors
    Video Monitor Adapters
    Battery Eliminators
    Single Button Remote Controllers
    etc., etc., etc.

    If only I where an electronics engineer, I would have built something already. But I'm not giving up on this yet. There is a wealth of information here - http://goprouser.freeforums.org/gopro-i ... g-f23.html - but I'm a busy guy, and the Phantom Pilots Forum is not the only one I subscribe to / participate on. Reading (and comprehending) hundreds (if not thousands) of forum posts can take a long time if you only have a few hours a day to devote to the task. :(
     
  5. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Yeah I've looked at cam-do.com, but unless I'm mistaken all of their options are limited in what they can do on a Hero3/3+....basically they can just turn the camera on. Any actions beyond that take hacked firmware on the camera. Or at least that's what I understood from my not-deep read of the details.

    Alternate remote control methods for the H3/3+ are a nut that many have tried to crack, but all seem to run in to the same brick wall. Readymaderc and others even sell a gopro adaptor/trigger that goes in the back port (USB is 100% no bueno for control input), but they're all still restricted the same (on/off is the only control available): http://www.readymaderc.com/store/index. ... ts_id=1400
     
  6. ATC Drone Flyer

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks again OI Photography,
    Hmmm, not very encouraging news :( . Oh well, like I said before, I haven't given up yet. Obviously, it is unlikely that I will discover/devise/develop a solution to this problem in the next week or even a month, but if I do make any progress at all, I'll be posing it here: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=21292
    Based on the number of posts you have contributed to this forum, you obviously spend more time on here that I do. If you happen to make any new discoveries along these lines, I hope you will share them with those of us who are interested in this sort of capability.

    Best wishes to you :!:
     
  7. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    And to you as well! I honestly would love to see you succeed at finding a viable option for that...it would probably line your pockets a bit too lol. I know working against something restricted by firmware is always an uphill battle.

    Ignore my post count please...I've been here almost a year now, and I obviously can't help myself ;)
     
  8. ATC Drone Flyer

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    We all have our obsessions. . . I don't judge ;)
     
  9. mauritz

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks ATC Drone Flyer and OI Photograpy for the fast replay. dont want to spend more for new camera.. guess I got to make photo in blind, and land..look photos and take of again for more photos if the first fly was bad pictures..
    I will now look your links..
    thx pilots !!!
     
  10. mauritz

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    so if use FPV I could put the gopro to film, or put it on photo what I want to do. Lets say 27k take a photo every 10 second, but I can see in the FPV that Iam in the frame fore the house that I take picture on, and just take a few shot when I see its a good frame.
    it will be many pic, but ok...will that work?
    and what do I need to buy to do this?
    I know I cant take photo when I want..but put the cam every 10 sec. but if see the frame is ok...
    what you think I should buy for my phantom 2, zenmuse 3h-2d, gopro 3+ black edition.
    sorry for my english...thx bro.

    Mauritz
     
  11. QYV

    QYV

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    NYC
    don't forget the GoPro Black has a video + photo mode... it can record video and every X seconds snap a still photo... although most people just say why bother with that, just screen cap from your video recordings
     
  12. ATC Drone Flyer

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Assuming that I understand everything you are trying to say, the short answer is YES.
    All the items in your purchase list looks good also, however you don't have a Video Transmitter, Video Receiver or Ground Station Video Monitor on your list. Can I assume you already have those items?