Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Need Help- Prop touching base

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by jackyrrab, Jan 2, 2016.

  1. jackyrrab

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Has this happened to anyone before? I don't want to power it up. Anyone have any suggestions?
    ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1451773357.791045.jpg ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1451773392.694134.jpg ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1451773414.180653.jpg ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1451773429.065758.jpg
     
  2. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    405
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
  3. jackyrrab

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Thanks for the response jason. Any links to where I would be able to purchase a shell? Do I need to replace the shell only or also the motor?
     
  4. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    405
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Where do you live? Take the time to add your location in your personal details page you'll fine that when you mouse over your screen name
     
  5. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    405
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Can't help you if you do not answer!
     
  6. jackyrrab

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I live in San Diego. I'm on my phone and it doesn't look like you can edit your Profile via mobile
     
  7. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    405
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Do when on your computer.
    Start by rotating each motor by hand with the props on to see if each feels the same. Then to find out if you need motor or the ESC board take the props off and see if you can spin the motors up using the RC controller.

    The shell and any other parts can be ordered from B&H in NY. I use them because they are an authorized DJI dealer and do not inflate their prices.
    www.bhphotovideo.com
     
  8. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    405
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    I also noticed that your quad looks more like a stripped down P2 non vision then a P2 vision + which comes with a gimbal and camera attached when bought. So what's up with that??
     
  9. jackyrrab

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I'm not sure why this was posted on the vision board, I apologize about that. This is definitely a P2 non vision with the h4 3D gimbal. all the motors work fine after testing this out. Looks like I'm going to have to buy a new shell... Have you done the transfer from the old to the new shell? Any manuals it previous threads about transferring the guts from old to new
     
  10. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    405
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Yes I have. There are 4 screws for the main, 2 signal board, 2 for each ESC, 4 for each motor and 2 for the battery terminal board. Get to the last 2 screws you need to lift the main module and move it over enough to get to those screws.
     
  11. jackyrrab

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I'm sure I can find a video of this. I appreciate your help here. Looking into also adding FPV. Would you recommend B and H to buy the parts for FPV?
     
  12. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    405
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    No B&H doesn't carry all the FPV equipment but they do carry everything for DJI products. Most of it can be found on ebay and of course prices very. The three most come brands are boscam, immersion and flysight.
     
  13. Qoncussion

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    5
    If it helps, I just changed my shell about two months ago. I used my cell phone to take pics at every step along way, to study the wiring...etc. As I removed screws, I kept them in separate lids (like Gatorade lids), and kept the lids in order on my desk. When assembling into the new shell, I just reversed the process and relied on a few of my cell pics. Worked like a charm. Hope that helps.
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  14. mcajr37

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    9
    I had a simalar problem all I did was take an Emory board and sand the prop down a little to shorten the prop itself
     
  15. jackyrrab

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Do you feel like it flys the same?
     
  16. jackyrrab

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
  17. mcajr37

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    9
    Sorry i havnt been on for a few days yes it did fly the same in my mind
     
  18. mcajr37

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    9
    Ive had no problems with it but I think I heard that it can overstress the other motors. Not too sure but its been flying fine for me
     
  19. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,688
    Likes Received:
    5,715
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
  20. jackyrrab

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Yes I just trimmed one of the wing a tiny bit and it works perfect. Just ordered FPV too! Super stoked. Bird runs great
     
    dirkclod likes this.