Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

need help phantom 3 advanced

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Jayrock77, Aug 25, 2016.

  1. Jayrock77

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey guys I just got my 1st phantom 3 advanced was looking forword to get going after an hr of downloading firmware and charging batteries ! wow . well I think I got everything downloaded but I went outside to fly and my controller red led light blinks and a beep everytime I turn controller on? it told me I needed new firmware so I downloaded it then said it was ok to fly so I went to throttle up nothing ? so I did the auto take off I hit the button and went half foot off the ground and flipped over to the left anyway I tried 3 times and broke 3 blades ! im at a loss I calibrated it I think I did everything it told me to do ? the controller only works the camera movement but no throttle or nothing ? only thing that works is the auto fly button ? nothing els ? I had a $100 drone before this and worked fine .im just at a loss and a little upset. can somebody please tell me what im doing wrong I just want to see it hover fly take some vids thanks everyone.

    <<Moved to correct forum>>
     
    #1 Jayrock77, Aug 25, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 25, 2016
  2. Numone

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    Welcome to the forum and bad luck...
    Did you read the manual during the whole hour you waited before trying to take off?
    Anyway.... To get some help might help to post some more relevant info..
    Is it new?
    Was the take off point completely flat?
    Did you calibrate the IMU before trying to take off?
    Did you calibrate the compass before trying to take off?
    Firmware you're running?
     
  3. Jayrock77

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ha yes I did thumb through the directions some. I did get the latest firmware . & yes I did calibrate the compass. It's brand new just bought it. I did learn more on the controls & how to get motors going but now when I want to give it throttle to get up off the ground it wants to flip over on its right side ?
     
  4. Jayrock77

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also what is the IMU ? Sorry I'm new to all this .all I know is I paid alot for this & want to take care of it.thanks again
     
  5. Numone

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    You "did thumb-through"..... Great. Did you use the simulator at all? I didn't even START my AC for a month, and that was after reading, watching, re-reading, re-watching ALL the information and manuals.....
    Did you calibrate the IMU (internal Measurement Unit)? As you don't know what it is, I suspect your thumb-through didn't cover that!
    Is the take-off point perfectly flat?
     
    Bluebouye likes this.
  6. Numone

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    i suggest you put it away and start by reading the full manual, watch the DJI videos, learn what everything does, what you need to do on a pre-flight check etc... Then take it out and use the SIM for a few hours. As you said, you paid a lot for it - you doing it all wrong and probably will destroy it. You can't expect to gain a new skill with zero practice. I've flown > 200 times and learn something new on every flight....
     
  7. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    733
    Location:
    Australia
    How were you trying to start the motors? Both sticks down and out or down and in? You need to start the motors first or no amount of stick fiddling will get you in the air (with the exception of the auto take off which clearly you have mastered).

    Why it consistently flipped doesn't make sense. It should have ascended to a stable hover. Where you moving the sticks?
     
  8. Jayrock77

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  9. Vertigo

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    147
    Most likely you installed the props incorrectly.
     
    Pharm likes this.
  10. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    733
    Location:
    Australia
    Possible agreed however not sure about likely- takes some real committed effort to butcher them on the wrong way. It's very obvious when the threads are reversed.

    What mode is the transmitter set to I wonder? Could be some really interesting custom setting perhaps.
     
  11. Jayrock77

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    haha you guys are funny !! anyway I am reading the directions all the way through I want to do some more homework & yes to start the motors I pushed the sticks down & in. But as I went to get it off the ground it wants to immediately turn over on its right like I said I broke 2 propellers don't want to break any more. Tomorrow I'm going to do more homework & take it to my buddies place with more land & turn off my wifi on phone try to launch it again ? Like I said I'm new to all this but very interested & just want it to hover ! Thanks guys for the input.
     
  12. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    733
    Location:
    Australia
    Run it without the props. If all motors make the same sound left stick moving up that's promising. If I they are playing out of tune you have issues with your stick assignments.
     
  13. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    733
    Location:
    Australia
    I'm thinking more about @Vertigo theory now (likelihood). Assuming your limited to the two sets of props in the box and have broken three in the same repeated failure scenario but you still have four to fly there is a good chance (statistically) you may have at least one on the wrong motor.
     
  14. exit 4

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Southern New Jersey
    That was my first thought. While it may seem hard to cross thread the props it is not impossible. Maybe his hubs are a bit on the loose side and he did manage to cross them up.
     
  15. Jayrock77

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I got it off the ground ! Pretty excited! Only had 1 little crash into the grape vines but not a scratch. I flew around for about 15 min took it up around 30 ft .when putting on the props or propellers I didn't see any black on the motors? So I guessed today I did find 2 little black bots so I pUT the black on black & silver etc. Went outside took wifi off my phone & Bluetooth. & boom it was up & flying ! Thanks for your help guys very appreciated
     
  16. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    733
    Location:
    Australia
    Ok so it seems at least one prop was on the wrong motor. I would have new props 1st on the list for accessory purchase and ditch the used ones.

    You want your hubs and threads to be in good condition, they can and do come off in flight. They are cheap so dont skimp here.
     
  17. Jayrock77

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I agree the props do seem hate to say cheap . You would think dji would at least have metal or aluminum? I'm on dji website now looking for some new props I'm looking at the carbon fiber they any good ? What would you recommend? I wish they had metal with metal threads ?
     
  18. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    733
    Location:
    Australia
    Earlier phantoms had metal inserts.

    This is not what you want on the P3, the plastic threads actually hang on better and are less likely to undo during active breaking (rapid deceleration of the motors) in flight.

    Many swear by the benefits of the carbon reinforced props, they definitely look cool. Choice is yours. Just make sure you avoid metal inserts for the threads and stick to DJI branded.
     
  19. Jayrock77

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    wow good point. so what do you use for props ? has to be something little better
     
  20. rocketflyer

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    15
    Guess you haven't seen the other stuff that's out there :)

    By prop standards DJI's are extremely well made in that they're well balanced nearly all the time.