Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Need help nvidia shiled

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by maxwell smart, Dec 24, 2015.

  1. maxwell smart

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Texas
    Just got a P3P, and shield k1. I cant get the shield to charge. It was plugged into USB on my laptop all night. The shield has charging on screen, but battery is almost dead. Did I get a dud?? Or am I doing it wrong?? Help.:mad::(
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,528
    Location:
    US
    Perhaps your laptop does not have enough power to charge it. Did you try plugging it in elsewhere?
     
  3. maxwell smart

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Texas
    It dont come with the charger. You have to perches it separately. Where could I plug it in to??
    I have to work today , got go but will look in on this from work.
    Scrugg is calling.
     
    #3 maxwell smart, Dec 24, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2015
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,528
    Location:
    US
    I charge mine via a USB hub that plugs into the wall. If you have a desktop computer, try plugging it into one of those USB ports.
     
  5. maxwell smart

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Texas
    I got it working . Thanks.
     
  6. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,528
    Location:
    US
    What was the fix?
     
  7. dbeavers

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    12
    Try iPad charger, laptop port does not make enough juice.
     
  8. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,507
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    I suspect it was left on/running while attempting to charge from computer USB. Usually it will use more power then being supplied (as mentioned).

    To add something to this discussion, I've also found that many cheaper chargers (wall and car) don't do a good job despite all their claims of 2.x amps, etc. Best chargers I've found are Blackberry chargers. They are a little more expensive but worth every penny. Both the wall and car charger ones I have are hardwired. Even if the charger is good I've also found that all wires are not created equal.
     
  9. Fplvert

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    708
    Location:
    Southern Idaho USA
    That's strange, mine came with a charger. It's output is 5.2 volts @ 2.1 amps.
    image.jpeg
     
  10. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,528
    Location:
    US
    I bought my Shield a few weeks ago and it did not come with a charger either.
     
  11. Dirby

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Dothan Al
    same here no charger
     
  12. UnrealDrones

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    Wow, that's kinda annoying that they don't include a charger. I guess they do that with a lot of stuff nowadays, but I hate when that happens.
     
  13. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,507
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    The new K1's don't come with a charger. They are less expensive. I don't think they come with a stylist either.
     
  14. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,528
    Location:
    US
    Nope. Both would be in the bottom of my closet if it did come with them ;)
     
  15. UnrealDrones

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    Yeah, I never use styluses anyway. They seem to make things more complicated. Maybe that's just me though...